How Do Teens
Get a License
in Delaware?

Through the
Graduated Driver Licensing law.

Anyone under age 18 who wants to geta
driver’s license in Delaware must follow
the Graduated Driver Licensing law (GDL).
This system was created to give teens
more driving practice and to help them
develop safe driving habits.
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Preparing Teens for a
Lifetime of Safe Driving

The GDL law requires a parent to ride with their teenager when he
or she drives. By driving with an adult and following a specific set
of rules, the number of crashes involving teens has gone down by
more than 50% in the last 10 years.

4 Steps to Getting a Driver’s License

Get a Learner’s Permit. To get a Learner’s Permit, your child

must pass a state-approved driver education class. Once they

do, they will get what is called a “Blue Certificate.” Then you
must go with them and they must:

Take the “Blue Certificate,” an original birth certificate,
passport or immigration card, and Social Security card
to a Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office and apply
for a Learner’s Permit

Pass an eye exam

Pay a $40 application fee

You (the parent) must sign their license application. Once the
application is approved, their picture will be taken and they
will receive a Learner’s Permit. Please note: It will look just like
aregular driver’s license; however, it is only a Learner’s Permit
for the first year.



Supervised Driving. For the first 6 months of driving, an

adult must ride with the teen any time he or she is driving.

The adult must be at least 25 years old and have had their
license for at least 5 years. Your teen must drive at least 50 hours
in those 6 months, including 10 hours at night. They must also
keep a record of all their driving hours.

Unsupervised Driving. For the second 6 months, they can

only drive unsupervised from 6 a.m. - 10 p.m. To drive at

night from 10 p.m. - 6 a.m., they must once again have an
adult with them (except when going to or from church, work
and some school activities).

Regular Driver’s License. When your teen has been driving
for exactly 1 year with no suspensions (see section called
Following the Rules), his or her Learner’s Permit will
automatically become a regular driver’s license. They do not
need to return to a DMV office for a new license. Any amount
of time their permit is suspended or revoked must be made up
and will be added to the end of their permit time.

Your child must be at least 16 years old to begin
the GDL program and at least 17 years old to
obtain a regular driver’s license.



Following the Rules

If your child gets caught violating any rules, his or her Learner’s
Permit can be suspended or revoked and it will take longer to get
their official driver’s license.

Rules

Your teen must always carry his or her Learner’s Permit when
driving a vehicle.

The driving supervisor (sponsor) must be either the teen’s
parent/guardian or a licensed driver at least 25 years old who
has held a Class D license for a minimum of 5 years.

The driving supervisor must sit in the front passenger seat
and is the only one allowed to sit there.

Your teen may only carry one other non-family member, in
addition to his or her supervisor, as a passenger in the car
during the first year. “Family member” means only parents,
brothers or sisters.

The driver and all passengers in the car must wear seat belts.

The teen driver is not allowed to use a cell phone to talk or text
unless they are calling 911 to report an emergency.




Fines, Tickets, and License Suspension

Teens that break the Learner’s Permit rules will have their
Learner’s Permit suspended for 2 months for the first offense
and 4 months for each time they break the rules after that.
They cannot drive during this time.

If police stop the teen driver for not wearing a seat belt, he
or she will get a ticket and his or her Learner’s Permit will be
suspended for 2 months.

Teen drivers will lose their permit for T month if caught on the
phone while driving.

Any amount of time your teen’s permit is suspended does not
count toward completing his or her 12 months of required
driving. It means they will have to drive with their Learner’s
Permit for another 2 months or more before they can get their
regular license.



The Responsibility of
the Parent/Sponsor

Parents play an important role in the
teen driving experience.

A sponsor (usually you, the parent) must sign your teen’s
license application.

While your teen has a Learner’s Permit, the sponsor will decide
who else may be a driving supervisor.

The sponsor can withdraw his or her permission for their
teen to drive at any time by going to the DMV. This will result
in the cancellation of your teen’s license until he or she
reaches age 18.

The sponsor helps develop your teen’s driving skills and his
or her ability to avoid being in a crash.

Sponsors are legally liable for all damages your teen causes if
he or she crashes. This means you could be sued for thousands
of dollars in court. The sponsor may be liable even if your teen
is driving someone else’s car.




Delaware’s Graduated Driver Licensing law
is how young drivers become safe drivers.

For more information or to find a Division of
Motor Vehicles (DMV) office near you, visit:
www.teendriving.dmv.de.gov or www.ohs.delaware.gov
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For more information on how teens can get a driver’s license, visit:
www.teendriving.dmv.de.gov or www.ohs.delaware.gov

© 2010 Delaware Office of Highway Safety



