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Executive Summary

In July, 1999, Delaware adopted a new statute which provided for a graduated
driver’slicense. The statute focuses on those individuals' ages 16 and 17 who are applying
for their first driver’s license. The goal isto give those individuals the time and supervision
necessary to build their driving skills and improve their decision-making within alower risk

environment.

The statute was expected to meet this goal in a number of ways. First, the individual
must meet certain standards with respect to training and exhibit knowledge of the rules of the
road and basic skillsin operating amotor vehicle. Second, for a period of time they can only
drive when supervised by a qualified person. Third, after gaining a specified amount of
experience, they may drive unsupervised but with restrictions as to the time of day. There are

also restrictions with respect to carrying passengers.

This process was expected to improve the individual’ s driving skills, instill a sense of
responsibility, sharpen their judgment, and promote strict observance of the rules of the road.
If the statute was successful, the crash rates for these drivers should decline in comparison
with similar drivers from time periods before the creation of this statute. In addition, it would
be reasonable to expect that the rate of traffic violations should also decline for this age group
given the extended and well-supervised training the individual has received. Findly, the
exposure of the individual to certain risks such as driving late a night islikely to have aso
reduced the risk of acrash.

In this study, using data from the Division of Motor Vehicles, the Delaware State
Police, and DELJIS from the period 1994-2008, the crash rates and violation rates for
younger drivers ages 16-24 are calculated. A decrease in the rates for 16 year oldsis expected
when comparing those from 1994-1999 to those from 2000-2008.

The results, which apply to 16 year-old drivers, show that the statute has had the
expected effect. Of particular interest are the following:

e Crashratesfor drivers decreased by 30.8%;
e Crashratesinvolving personal injury decreased by 30.1%;
e Crash rates during the period 10pm-6am decreased by 59.1%;

Vi
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e Crashratesinvolving male drivers decreased by 35.1%;
e Crashratesinvolving female drivers decreased by 28.8%.
e Violation ratesfor drivers of age 16 decreased by 17.4%;
o Violationsinvolving male drivers decreased by 20.6%;
o Violationsinvolving female drivers decreased by 25.2%.

The results for 16-year old drivers declined as expected. It would appear that the
primary factor leading to the declinesin crash rates are the supervision and the restricted

driving hours which lowers exposure and avoids the high risk times.

Thereis no evidence found in this data that the experience and supervision received
in the GDL program translates into fewer crashes one year later when they are 17. The 16
year-old GDL group from 2000 looks very much like all other 17 year-old groups with
respect to crash rates.

The violation data supports the idea that exposure isincreasing rapidly in the first
three to four years of driving before moderating and very slowly declining as a driver ages.

vii



Introduction

In July, 1999, Delaware adopted a new statute which provided for a graduated
driver's permit process. The statute focuses on those individuals of ages 16 and 17 who are
applying for their first driver’slicense. The goa isto give those individuals the time and
supervision necessary to build their driving skills and improve their decision-making within a
lower risk environment.

The statute requires that a number of pre-conditions be met as part of the application
process. Those pre-conditions include the following:

e Successfully completing adriver’s education course;
e Passing the written and road test;
e Certified by the driver’s education teacher;
e Application signed by aqualified sponsor.
If the applicant is found qualified, aLevel 1 Learners Permit isissued. That permit comes
with severa restrictionsincluding the following:
e Mandatory supervision by aqualified person;
e Only the supervisor can bein the front seat during certain times of the day;
. gqr f[hefirst 6 months, the individual must be supervised at all times when
riving;

e After 6 months, theindividual can only drive between 6am and 10pm
unsupervised (with afew exceptions);

o Driversarerestricted to carrying just one passenger in addition to the
supervisor during the first six months of driving (an exception is made for
family members). In the final six months, only a single passenger is
permitted when the driver is unsupervised.

Basically, the individual must meet certain standards with respect to training and exhibit
knowledge of the rules of the road and basic skills in operating a motor vehicle. Second, for a
period of time they can only drive when supervised by aqualified person. Third, after gaining
a specified amount of experience, they may drive unsupervised but with restrictions asto the
time of day. At the end of the first year, their GDL permit becomes an unrestricted Class D
license, providing the driver has not had his'her license suspended or revoked. Hopefully, by
thistime, the GDL driver has gained enough experience and maturity to reduce the risk of

being involved in a crash.
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Thisreport contains the results from an evaluation of the effectiveness of the statute.
The basic design isreferred to as a pre-post design. Data gathered from the time prior to the
implementation of the statute will be compared with data gathered after the statute was put in
place. The two periods are 1994-1999 and 2000-2008. The primary focus will be on the 16-
year old driver since that group is required to enter the program. The 17-year old group isa
mixture since most will have come through the GDL program the year before. Some may
currently be in the program, and still others may have held an out-of-state license for afull 12
months and can apply for aClass D license. However, datawill be presented showing results
for dl ages 16-24.

There are three primary data sources used in this evaluation. The first was a data set
provided by the Division of Motor Vehicles. It contains arecord for each licensed driver who
was in the age range 16-24 in 1994-2008. Many of these drivers are no longer in the state,
and their licenses will have expired. The data provided includes the date the license was first
issued, the expiration date, the date of birth, gender, and the class of license. The class of
license and the expiration date will be updated as licenses are reissued. The other data
remains fixed. This data set isimportant because it alows calculation of the number of
driversin each age group during each year of the period 1994-2008 and thus the ability to
calculate arate for each variable in the evaluation years.

The second primary data source is the crash file provided by the Delaware State
Police. It contains arecord for each crash, the date and hour of occurrence, the hour of
occurrence, injury indicator, gender, age, and date of birth of the driver, state of residence and
the state of license. This data was provided in two separate files. The first included data from
paper files which covered 1994-2006. The data from 2004-2006 was transitional and
incomplete. The second file was derived from their automated system and covered the period
2004-2009. Data from 2004 to 2006 found in both files were combined in the analysis. Data
from 2009 was not included since the second half of 2009 was not yet available. During the
anaysis only data where the driver was from Delaware and had a Delaware driver license
was included. This accounted for roughly 80% of the crashes.

The fina datais derived from DELJIS. Thisisan extract which contains every traffic
violation that occurred during the study period. It contains a record for each violation, the
date of the event, date of birth and age of the offender as well as gender, the offender’ s state

and the state of thelicense.




Delaware' s Graduated Drivers License Statute: An Evaluation DRAFT #10 09/27/10 Introduction

The report contains four sections following thisintroduction. The first section deals
with the measurement of drivers who are residents of Delaware during the 1994 to 2008

period. These data, supplied by DMV, are crucia for calculating appropriate rates.

The second section contains an analysis of the crash data provided by the Delaware
State Police. Thisdatais critical in evaluating the impact of the GDL statute.

The third section covers the traffic violations information supplied by DELJIS. This
information is used primarily to discover any relationship between the GDL statute and

driving behavior.

The fourth and final section provides some observations about what has been learned

as aresult of this evauation.

The Appendix contains critical parts of the GDL statute and a few additional tables.




Driversat Risk

One of the most critical pieces of datais the number of licensed driversin the State of
Delaware during each year of the study. Thisdata is used in the computation of rates with respect
to crashes and traffic violations for al of the interested groups. Table 2.1 containsthe fina
numbers used throughout the study.

Table2.1
Age Distribution of Drivers

Age 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999

16 5497 5646 5889 5974 6053 6109
17 6967 7157 7434 7707 7302 7601
18 7249 7446 7779 7943 8164 8140
19 7760 7971 8183 8240 8726 8670
20 8085 7880 8135 8491 8562 8904
21 7857 7659 8067 7968 8450 8492
22 8722 8502 8379 8536 8226 8652
23 10040 9786 8740 8680 8690 8508

24 10703 10433 9530 9180 8962 8937
Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware
Delawar e Division of Motor Vehicles, Dover DE

Federal Highway Administration, USDOT

Table 1 (continued)
Age Distribution of Drivers

Age | 2000 | 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008

16 | 6132 | 6063 6088 6151 6240 6381 6486 6920 6539
17 | 7456 | 7274 7431 7402 7627 7950 7852 8563 7805
18 | 8235 | 8043 8012 8243 8203 8386 8800 9197 8803
19| 8807 | 8915 8877 8921 9076 9132 9240 9885 9498
20 | 9136 | 9298 9418 9433 9466 9715 9725 9897 | 10354
21| 8951 | 9195 9365 9486 9494 9632 9970 | 10016 | 10796
22| 8722 | 9189 9544 9744 9808 9969 9985 | 10374 10417
23| 8926 | 9082 9608 | 10130 | 10063 | 10397 | 10368 | 10441 | 10841

24| 8814 | 9324 9553 10135 10505 10604 10798 10970 11101
Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles, Dover DE
Federal Highway Administration, USDOT
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Two independent sources were employed in creating this set of estimates. The Federal
Highway Administration (FHWA) published an estimate of licensed Delaware drivers from 1994
through 2008. These estimates were obtained from the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) by FWHA.. There were notable inconsi stencies between years which were not explained

in the documentation.

The DMV supplied the study with an extract covering the years 1994-2008 as well. The
data set contained arecord for any driver in the appropriate age range, namely 16 to 24 that held a
license in any one of the target years. This amounted to selecting all licenses issued to persons
with adate of birth between 01/01/70 and 10/05/93. Given the date of birth, the year the license
was originally issued and the expiration date, it was straightforward to develop a count of drivers
with an active license in the year of interest. However, these estimates are an upper estimate since
we cannot determine if the person was living in Delaware during al four years of the license
period. The same problem exists for those who wereissued alicense in the state, |eft the state for
anumber of years, and were issued alicense when they returned. Some of theseissuesarein al
likelihood present in the estimates sent to FHWA by DMV.

A third method used as a backup was the application of national data on the percentage of
persons by age group with adriver’slicense to the latest census estimates of population by age
and gender. While perhapsthe least precise, it isa useful way of verifying the results from the
other sources.




Crashes

The primary measure used to indicate the safety record of a particular class of driversis
their crash rate. Therate is expressed as the number of crashes for the class of interest divided by
the number of driversin the class. For convenience the result is usually multiplied by either 100
or 1000. Here the rate is expressed as per 1000 driversin the class. Thisisasimple concept in
theory but a bit more complex in practice.

First, the number of crashesinvolving drivers of a specific age has to be extracted from
existing information systems. Those crash reports have to be screened for the age of the driver
and the state of residence. Only crashes with drivers who are residents of Delaware are included
in the study. The second complication isamajor change in the crash reporting system which
involved both systems, paper and automated, in the years 2004 and 2006. This situation required
merging the two systems during those three years when they were operating in parallel to some
degree. This could have affected the datain some way which cannot be taken into account. The

counts derived from the two systems are found in Table 3.1, below.

Table3.1
Crashes
by Age of Driver and Y ear

Ag

e 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 803 909 948 | 1005 | 1001 955 596 623 621 533 535 495 454 | 415 372
17 872 957 | 1027 | 1110 | 1236 | 1030 998 | 1062 | 1087 | 1076 942 970 981 | 1016 908
18 771 865 | 1000 | 1010 | 1109 | 1160 | 1116 | 1034 | 1055 | 1006 | 1018 931 | 1033 | 1084 | 1030
19 717 776 864 884 823 830 969 885 961 943 857 865 869 973 865
20 594 740 715 740 756 785 847 859 852 829 793 785 809 791 813
21 609 711 747 658 658 737 778 806 883 797 753 730 762 797 740
22 638 629 662 643 640 688 675 747 798 815 729 712 712 745 752
23 731 660 623 590 591 641 633 616 671 687 719 622 718 706 652
24 642 728 656 592 527 611 571 540 626 630 680 645 693 689 696

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Delawar e State Police, Dover DE.

The table shows the number of crashesinvolving drivers of ages 16 through 24. While
the GDL statute primarily affects 16 year-old drivers, a portion of 17 year-old drivers are affected
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aswell. The statute does not affect 18-year old drivers and older drivers which are provided here

for purposes of contrast.*

Since the statute was implemented in 1999, it is readily apparent that the law had an
impact even when considering just the raw crash data. In 1999, 16 year-old driversresiding in
Delaware were involved in 955 crashes while driving. After implementation of the statute the
number of crashes attributable to these drivers fell 37.6% to 596 in 2000. Looking along the row
it is clear that the number of crashes did not return to the levels observed in the 1994-1999 levels.
It also appears that the general trend is downward over the period 2000-2008. If one examinesthe
same datafor 17 year-old drivers, the pattern is different. The number of crashesis not
substantively different during the two periods before and after GDL implementation. However, it
isimportant to note that in the period before GDL, the 16 year-old drivers were in similar
numbers of crashes asthe 17 year-old driversin spite of the fact that the exposure of the latter
was undoubtedly higher.

A more precise way of gauging theimpact of the GDL statute isto examine the crash
rate. By looking at the rate, any effect caused by a change in the number of drivers at risk istaken
into account. Therates are found in Table 3.2, below.

Table3.2
Crash Rate
by Age of Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 | 146.1 | 161.0 | 161.0 | 168.2 | 1654 | 156.3 | 97.2 | 102.7 | 102.0| 86.7| 857| 776| 70.0| 60.0| 56.9
17| 1252 | 133.7 | 138.1 | 1440 | 169.3 | 1355 | 1339 | 146.0 | 146.3 | 1454 | 1235 | 1220 | 124.9 | 118.7 | 116.3
18 | 106.4 | 116.2 | 128.6 | 127.2 | 1358 | 1425 | 1355 | 1286 | 131.7 | 122.0 | 1241 | 1110 | 1174 | 1179 | 1170
19| 924 | 9741056 | 1073 | 943 | 957 | 1100 | 993 | 1083 | 105.7| 944 | 94.7| 940| 984 | 911
20| 735| 939| 879| 872| 883| 882 | 927 | 924 | 905| 879 | 838| 808| 832| 799 | 785
21| 775| 928 | 926| 86| 77/9| 868 | 869 | 87.7| 943| 840| 793]| 758| 764 | 796 | 685
22| 731 740| 79.0| 753| 778| 795| 774 | 813| 836 | 836 | 743 | 714 | 713| 718 | 722
23| 728| 674| 713| 680| 680| 753 | 709 | 678| 698| 678 | 714 | 59.8| 693| 676 | 60.1
24| 600 698 | 688 | 645| 588| 684 | 648 | 579| 655| 622| 647| 608| 642| 628 | 62.7

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

The first point isthat the crash rate for 16 year-old drivers mirrors the data shown in
Table 1. Therate for this group falls from 156.3 to 97.2 (37.8%) when GDL was implemented.

! The 1999 calendar year data contains 85% non-GDL drivers. The 2000 calendar year data contains 85%
GDL drivers. Using the fiscal year would find 54% in the program and 46% out of it. The calendar year
data provides a better estimate although one which underestimates the impact of the program.
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Thislower rateis at first maintained and then slowly declines through 2008. The rates associated
with 17 year-old drivers are now substantially higher than observed for the younger group. Prior
to the introduction of the program, the rates for 16 year-old drivers exceeded those for the 17
year-old drivers by about 13.3%. It is aso quite clear that the crash rates roughly peak at 17 and
decline as the driver reaches age 24. At age 24 the crash rate is roughly cut in haf from that
observed at age 18. The crash rate during the period before GDL was considerably higher for 16

year-old drivers when compared to 17 year-old drivers.

Figure3.1
Crash Rates
by Age of Driver and Y ear

Accidents per 1000 Drivers

200

Nl
/

100 —

50

| | | | | | | | | | | | |
0
1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 200¢
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|—16 year-old—17 year-old—24 year-old |

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Probably the most interesting pattern shown in Figure 3.1 is that the lower rates observed
at age 16 after GDL wasimplemented do not carry over into age 17. For example, the rate for
drivers aged 16 in 2000 was 97.2. However in 2001, the rate at age 17 is 146.0. This group
contains alarge majority of those who were 16 the year before. If the reduction in the rate shown
for GDL was simply due to improved driving skills, then the reduction should have carried
forward. However, if the reduction was derived from fewer miles driven given constraints of the
license and the supervisor, the reduction in rate istemporary. These data suggest that the latter is
the case. Reduced exposure produced the reduction in crashes. The impact of experience is shown

in the reduced rates in general as drivers age 16 to age 24 shown throughout the table.




Delaware' s Graduated Drivers License Statute: An Evaluation DRAFT #10 09/27/10 Crashes

Table3.3
Crash Rate
by Cohort and Year
(per 1000 drivers)

1997 | 1998 | 1999 | Average 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | Average Net
1997-99 2000-02
16 | 168.2 | 1654 | 156.3 163.3 97.2 | 102.7 | 102.0 100.7 -62.7
17 | 169.3 | 1355 | 133.9 146.2 146.0 | 146.3 | 1454 145.9 -0.3
18 | 1425 | 1355 | 128.6 1355 131.7 | 122.0 | 124.1 125.9 -9.6
19 | 110.0 | 99.3 | 108.3 105.9 105.7 | 944 | 947 98.3 -7.6
20| 924 | 905| 879 90.2 838 | 80.8| 832 82.6 -7.7
21| 943| 840| 793 85.9 758 | 764 | 79.6 77.3 -8.6
22| 836| 743| 714 76.5 713 718 | 722 71.8 -4.7

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

In Table 3.3 above, the three years before the implementation of GDL are compared to
the three years after implementation. In the 1997 column are displayed the crash rates for those
who were 16 years old in 1997 as they age through the next six years. Granted the people in the
cohort change somewhat over time; however, it should be a good approximation of the likely
performance over time. The average results for the first three cohorts are shown in the fourth
column. The three cohorts following GDL implementation are treated similarly, yielding another
three year average. The column labeled “Net” shows avery large difference for 16 year-old
drivers of -62.7 (38.4%) for the post GDL period. There isamost no impact on the GDL drivers
when they become 17, but a gradua improvement over time, as the members of the cohort age, is

apparent.

Using the data contained in Table 3.2 and graphed in Figure 3.1, it isclear that thereis
both a program effect and a general downward trend as well. To disentangle these two effects, the
datawas mode ed using ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This analysis estimates the GDL
effect to be -45.962 and the annual decline as-4.215 for the 16 year-old drivers (adj. R?=.865,
F=38.089, Sig.=.000). This alows the computation of an adjusted percentage change between
1999 and 2000 of 30.82% compared to the 37.8% computed earlier. The differenceisthelong

term downward trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute effect.

The 17 year-old driver’s performance produced an annual decline of -1.25 and a GDL
effect of 3.01, asmall increase in the crash rate.
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Crashes

While all crashes and crash rates are important in understanding the impact of GDL,

those that involve personal injury are of particular concern. Fatal injuries are not singled out

because of the smal numbers, less than seven ayear for any of the age groupsin any year, and

the high volatility obscures any relationship to GDL.

Table3.4
Personal Injury Crashes
by Age of Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 162 187 177 209 217 203 142 124 130 84 93 92 116 123 88
17 154 166 193 229 277 233 233 233 214 204 150 213 236 286 225
18 135 145 199 218 230 228 206 244 214 177 200 222 276 267 275
19 134 163 167 179 171 196 191 173 193 165 153 205 239 259 262
20 118 153 142 149 176 164 182 179 161 146 161 202 207 224 234
21 108 126 152 126 132 144 179 176 169 131 141 168 232 246 206
22 116 161 109 134 139 126 160 146 152 139 131 161 199 204 218
23 149 114 125 119 120 125 124 118 149 123 119 139 194 202 189
24 109 131 120 101 92 128 119 108 149 126 128 152 195 195 186

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Delawar e State Police, Dover DE.

The number of crashesinvolving personal injuriesisfound in Table 3.4, above. Prior to
the introduction of GDL, an average of 192.5 persona injury crashes occurred annually for 16
year-old drivers. That subset of crashes accounted for just over 20% of all crashesinvolving this
group of drivers.

When GDL cameinto play in 1999, there was a 30% drop in the number of personal
injury crashes for the 16 year-old group. This reduction is somewhat |ess of a decrease than the
38% drop in al crashesfor GDL drivers. However, these numbers are somewhat volatile as can
be seen in the personal injury crashes that occurred in 2001 through 2008. The important point is
that with the reduction in exposure and the addition of on-board supervision for at least half the
year, personal injury crashes and thus the related costs will fall aswell. It is aso important to note
that the reductions were sustained across 2001-2008 period.

The patterns observed earlier are present in this data as well. Once the GDL period is
over, thereis virtualy no difference for the GDL drivers when they turn 17 years of age. When
the GDL driver gains a standard class D license, then the supervision is not present and their
exposure on the roads becomes consistent with the 17 year-olds from the pre-GDL times. The
number of personal injury crashes falls continuously with the driver’ s age. It is somewhat curious

to see the increases in crashes (unadjusted for drivers) from 2005 through 2008. Since this period
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was one of sharply rising gasoline prices and presumably reductionsin miles driven, exposure

should have been less.

Table3.5
Personal Injury Crash Rate
by Age of Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16| 295| 331| 301| 350| 358| 332| 232| 205| 214 | 137 | 149 | 144| 179] 178| 135
17| 221 | 232| 260| 297| 379| 30.7| 313| 320| 288| 276| 197| 26.8| 301 | 334 | 288
18| 186 | 195| 256 | 274 | 282 | 280| 250 | 303| 267 | 215| 244| 265| 314 | 29.0| 312
19| 173| 204 | 204 | 21.7| 196 | 226 | 21.7| 194 | 21.7| 185| 169 | 224 | 259 | 262 | 276
20| 146) 194 | 175 175| 206 | 184 | 199| 193] 171 | 155| 170| 208 | 21.3| 226 | 226
21| 137| 165| 188 | 158| 156 | 170| 200| 191 | 180 | 138 | 149| 174 | 233| 246 | 191
22| 133| 189 | 130| 157 | 169| 146 | 183 | 159| 159| 143| 134 | 162| 199| 197 | 209
23| 148) 116| 143 137| 138| 147 139 | 130| 155| 121 | 118| 134 | 187 | 193 | 174
24| 10.2| 126| 126| 11.0| 103| 143| 135] 116| 156| 124 | 122 | 143| 181 | 178 | 16.8

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

These results should also be converted into personal injury crash rates by adjusting for
the number of driversat risk. These rates are found in Table 3.5. The crash rate calculations
confirm the observations from the previous table. The GDL drivers were involved in 30% less
personal injury crashes when compared to the 16 year-old driversin 1999. As expected, the
reduced rate for that group does not carry through into the next year since exposure is increasing.

Figure 3.2 below shows that the personal injury crash rate for 17 year-old drivers was
substantially lower in comparison with the 16 year-old driversin the pre-GDL period (red above
blue). This suggests that the reduced exposure for GDL drivers still provided sufficient

experience to meet the traditional personal injury crash rates ayear later.

In contrast to the data for crashes overall, the personal injury crash rates for both 17 year-
old drivers and 24 year-old drivers have been rising. In the case of the older group the rate has
increased significantly from 13.5 to 16.8 over the past 8 years.
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Figure 3.2
Personal Injury Crash Rates

by Age of Driver and Y ear
Accidents per 1000 Drivers
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Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Using the data contained in Table 3.5 and graphed in Figure 3.2, it isclear that the
program effect and the general downward trend are present, although more obvious in the GDL
drivers. The two effects were isolated using ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This
analysis setsthe GDL effect to be -11.681 and the annual decline as -.483 for the 16 year-old
drivers (adj. R>=.675, F=13.037, Sig.=.000). ). This also allows the computation of an adjusted
percentage change between 1999 and 2000 of 36.99% compared to the 30.1% computed earlier.
The differenceisthe long term downward trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute
effect.

The 17 year-old driver’s performance produced an annual increase of 7.89 in the crash
rate and a GDL effect of -3.55, neither of which were statisticaly significant.

In Table 3.6 below, the three years before the implementation of GDL are compared to
the three years after implementation. In the 1997 column are displayed the personal injury crash
rates for those who were 16 years old in 1997, and as they age through the next six years. While

the people in the cohort will change somewhat as time passes, it should be a good measure of the
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likely results over time. The average results for the first three cohorts are shown in the fourth
column. The three cohorts following GDL implementation are treated similarly, yielding another
three year average. The column labeled “Net” shows alarge difference for 16 year-old drivers of
-13.0 (37.5%) for the post GDL period. Theimpact on the GDL drivers when they become 17 is
much less -3.8. By the time these cohorts age by six years, they show increases and these are

reflecting the increases post 2005 mentioned earlier.

Table3.6
Personal Injury Crash Rate
By Cohort and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1997 | 1998 | 1999 | Average 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | Average Net
1997-99 2000-02
16| 350| 358| 332 34.7 232 205| 214 21.7 -13.0
17| 379| 30.7| 313 33.3 320 | 288 | 276 29.5 -3.8
18| 280| 25.0| 303 27.8 26.7| 215| 244 24.2 -3.6
19| 21.7| 194 | 217 20.9 185 | 169 | 224 19.3 -1.7
20| 193] 171 | 155 17.3 170| 208 | 213 19.7 2.4
21| 180 | 138 | 149 15.6 174 | 233 | 24.6 21.8 6.2
22| 143 | 134 | 16.2 14.6 199 | 19.7| 20.9 20.2 56

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Another area of interest isthe potential for gender differencesin the GDL program. The

crash information for 16-24 year-old male driversis contained in Table 3.7, below.

Table3.7
Crashes
by Age of Male Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 423 | 495 500 538 532 519 311 321 322 274 273 237 224 204 180
17 510 550 582 631 699 548 565 564 557 586 498 532 471 505 | 479
18 475 533 583 611 645 653 664 626 585 570 555 516 574 559 582
19 414 | 445 537 511 509 483 576 524 567 542 492 448 438 560 | 484
20 360 | 417 | 436 423 | 402 429 482 463 427 476 427 455 445 434 | 462
21 377 412 | 423 375 376 423 420 | 420 471 434 | 438 417 403 417 388
22 387 372 374 342 351 408 383 386 382 416 421 392 393 411 384
23 435 381 345 345 341 349 355 337 359 367 385 333 417 395 327
24 379 411 394 349 295 329 313 289 346 342 356 339 357 402 361

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Delawar e State Police, Dover DE.
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The number of crashes attributed to 16 year-old male driversfell by 40.1% after the GDL
statute was implemented, and that new level has been sustained or fallen further over the last
eight years. Since the beginning of the GDL program in July, 1999, the reported crashes have
fallen by more than 42% as of 2008.

Table3.8
Crash Rate
by Age of Male Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16| 162.3 | 1851 | 179.9 | 189.1 | 186.6 | 180.9 | 108.2 | 100.1 | 1132 | 957 | 950 | 80.7| 748 | 63.0| 59.5
17 | 148.8 | 156.4 | 155.1 | 162.6 | 191.5 | 146.6 | 154.7 | 153.1 | 155.2 | 166.1 | 135.7 | 137.8 | 126.9 | 120.6 | 129.1
18 | 128.4 | 1404 | 150.3 | 152.0 | 158.0 | 161.8 | 161.6 | 154.5 | 145.6 | 140.5| 139.7 | 126.1 | 130.9 | 1245 | 132.2
19| 1054 | 1104 | 130.0 | 122.6 | 116.7 | 109.9 | 1299 | 1196 | 1271 | 1188 | 108.2 | 99.5| 95.0 | 1105 102.7
20| 874)103.8| 1053 | 988 | 939| 944 | 1044 | 100.3| 88.7| 1004 | 878 | 926 | 916 | 882 | 87.8
21| 953) 1068|1048 | 939| 89.0| 1006 | 929 | 9111008 | 906 | 929 | 849 | 803| 827| 707
22| 881| 868| 895| 85| 83| 93| 893 | 841| 85| 8.1| 8.7| 793 | 777| 799 | 734
23| 870| 781| 79.0| 799| 785| 89| 807 | 725| 750 | 726 | 783 | 641| 810| 759 | 59.7
24| 703) 782| 819| 754 | 658| 743| 722 | 609| 740| 675| 690| 649 | 663 | 726 | 64.8

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

In Table 3.8, the substantial reduction in crashes from 1999 to 2000 for the male GDL
driver isreplicated in the crash rate which accounts for any change in the number of drivers. The
crash ratesfor 17 and 18 year-old male drivers also fall substantially from 2000 to 2008. For
these two ages crash rates will be cut nearly in half by the timethey are 24 years of age.

Using the data contained in Table 3.8 and graphed in Figure 3.3, it is clear that both the
program effect and the general downward trend are present. The two effects were isolated using
ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This analysis sets the GDL effect for men to be -59.506
and the annual decline as -4.446 for the 16 year-old drivers (R?=.897, F=41.707, Sig.=.000). This
also allows the computation of an adjusted percentage change between 1999 and 2000 of 35.1%
compared to the nominal 40.1% computed earlier. The differenceis the long term downward

trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute effect.

The 17 year-old driver’s performance produced an annual increase of -3.018 and a GDL
effect of 4.60, neither of which was statistically significant.
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Table3.9
Crashes
by Age of Female Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 380 414 448 467 468 436 285 302 299 259 262 258 230 211 191
17 361 407 445 479 536 482 433 498 530 490 444 438 509 511 429
18 296 331 417 399 464 507 452 408 470 434 462 415 458 524 447
19 303 331 327 373 313 346 393 361 394 400 364 417 431 413 381
20 234 323 278 317 353 354 365 396 425 353 362 330 364 357 351
21 231 298 324 283 282 314 358 386 412 363 315 313 359 380 352
22 249 257 288 301 289 279 292 361 416 397 308 320 319 334 368
23 296 279 278 245 250 290 278 279 312 319 334 289 301 311 325
24 263 317 262 243 230 281 258 251 280 288 322 306 335 287 335

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Delawar e State Police, Dover DE.

Theresults for female GDL drivers were similar to those for malesin that there was a

34.6% reduction in crashes after the statute was implemented. The percentage decline was 5.5%

less than was observed for males. In general, femaleswere involved in fewer crashes than males,

and that was not a surprise. Like males, females are most likely to be involved in acrash a age 17

or 18. Similar to males, the number of crashesfalls as the female ages.
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Table3.10
Crash Rate
by Age of Female Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)
1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 | 131.4 | 139.3 | 1441 | 1493 | 146.2 | 1346 | 875 | 94.2 92.2 788 | 778 | 749 | 659 574 | 54.3
17 | 102.0| 111.8 | 120.9 | 125.2 | 146.8 | 1248 | 1139 | 135.1 | 137.9 | 126.5| 112.2 | 107.1 | 1229 | 116.7 | 104.7
18| 834 | 90.7| 106.9 | 101.7 | 113.7 | 123.6 | 109.5 | 100.7 | 117.7 | 103.7 | 109.2 | 96.6 | 103.8 | 111.3 | 101.6
19| 791 | 84.0| 80.7| 916 | 717 81.0| 899 | 824 | 892 91.8| 804 | 90.1| 931 85.8| 79.6
20| 59.0| 836| 69.6| 753| 85| 812| 80.7| 8.8 | 923| 753| 786| 687 | 748 | 717 | 69.0
21| 59.2| 784 | 804 | 712| 66.7 73.3| 808 | 837 878 | 773| 659| 663| 725| 764 | 66.3
22 575| 61.0| 68.6 702 | 70.3| 638 | 659 | 78.6 86.7 80.8| 629 | 63.7| 648 | 639 70.9
23| 587| 568 | 635| 562| 575| 674 | 614 | 60.0| 647| 629 | 649 | 556| 57.7| 594 | 60.6
24| 495| 613| 555| 534 | 513| 623 | 576 | 529 574 56.8| 60.3| 56.8| 619 52.8 | 60.6

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Table 3.10 contains the female driver crash rates and shows a 35% reduction in that rate
between 1999 and 2000. As we have seen for males, the crash rates for 16 year-old drivers before
GDL exceeded those of the 17 year-old drivers. Thus, females are seeing their rates fall because
they are less exposed under GDL but receive sufficient experience to match their predecessors
with one year of experience. The crash rates for female GDL drivers have been falling over the
last eight years but not as rapidly as for males. Unlike males, there is not much improvement

from age 20 to 24.

Using the data contained in Table 3.10 and graphed in Figure 3.4, both the program effect
and the general downward trend are present. The two effects were isolated using ordinary least
squares (OLS) regression. This analysis setsthe GDL effect for men to be -37.952 and the annual
decline as -3.597 for the 16 year-old drivers (adj. R?=.857, F=28.880, Sig.=.000). Thisaso
allows the computation of an adjusted percentage change between 1999 and 2000 of 28.8%
compared to the nominal 35% computed earlier. The differenceisthe long term downward trend
has been removed leaving only the GDL statute effect.

The 17 year-old driver’s performance produced an annual increase of -0.384 and a GDL
effect of 0.629, neither of which was statistically significant.
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Figure3.4
Crash Rates
by Age of Female Driver and Y ear
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Table3.11
Ratio of Male Crash Rateto Female Crash Rate
by Age of Driver and Y ear

200¢

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16| 123| 133] 125| 127 | 128| 134| 124| 106| 123| 121 | 122| 108 | 113| 110| 110
17| 146| 140| 128 130| 130| 117| 136| 113| 113| 131] 121| 129| 1.03| 1.03| 123
18| 154| 155| 141 | 149] 139| 131| 148| 153| 124| 136| 128| 130| 126| 112| 130
19| 133| 131| 161 | 134 | 163| 136| 145| 145| 142| 129| 135| 110| 102| 129 | 129
20| 148| 124 | 151 | 131| 114)| 116| 129| 117| 09 | 133| 112 | 135| 123 | 123| 127
21| 161| 136| 130| 132| 133] 137| 115| 109| 115| 117| 141 | 128| 111 | 108| 1.07
22| 153| 142| 131| 115| 121 | 149| 136| 107| 093 | 107| 136| 124| 120| 125| 104
23| 148 | 138| 124 | 142| 136| 123 132 121| 116| 115| 121 | 115| 141 | 128 098
24| 142| 128| 148| 141| 128| 119 125| 115| 129| 119| 114| 114| 107 138| 107

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Crash rates for males and females are compared in Table 3.11, and it appears that the

GDL program has narrowed the difference between these two classes of drivers. Prior to GDL,
the crash rates for males were generally 28% higher than those for female 16 year-old drivers.
That difference was reduced to 15% after the implementation of GDL. Asthese drivers age the

differences tend to narrow especidly from ages 21 to 24 where it averages just 4%.
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Figure3.5
Crash Rates
by Age-Gender of Driver and Year
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A graphical comparison of the male/female results are found in Figure 3.3. The by now
familiar patterns are represented in the figure. The 16 year-old drivers of both genders had
generally higher crash rates than those that were 17 before GDL. The GDL effect noted between
1999 and 2000 has the same general shape, but the decline for malesis steeper and longer. The
GDL drivers have far less difference between genders from 2000 on and the crash rate declines
for both. Females of age 17 have essentially the same crash rate in 2008 as they had in 1994,
while males have reduced their rate by athird.

The fina tables for this section address the late night driving periods. For the first six
months, the GDL drivers, who must always be supervised, are permitted to drive at any time.
After the first six months and with the certification of certain facts by a parent or guardian, the
GDL driver can drive unsupervised between 6am and 10pm. Supervision is required between
10pm and 6am as was the case in the first six months. There are exceptions for trips to church,
work, and school. In other words, these late hours are heavily restricted and will drastically

reduce the exposure of the GDL driver.
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Table3.12
Crashesfrom 10pm to 6am
by Age of Driver and Y ear
1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 95 93 113 111 112 110 54 40 40 29 38 40 28 35 33
17 101 108 133 147 128 137 107 108 119 128 108 89 98 109 73
18 109 138 153 157 150 177 162 188 167 143 146 132 124 161 129
19 109 133 137 158 113 146 173 162 152 149 144 126 129 126 119
20 93 109 104 109 106 125 141 128 145 157 125 107 124 134 126
21 88 110 119 121 108 117 152 159 146 152 126 124 122 123 137
22 107 104 92 109 91 91 112 134 137 159 109 91 124 127 121
23 115 93 116 110 96 88 102 97 106 119 120 99 126 123 104
24 78 113 96 87 78 96 79 84 95 79 113 97 99 103 110
Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware
Delaware State Police, Dover DE.
Aninspection of Table 3.12 finds some variation from the themes devel oped in other
tables. The usual pattern of higher numbers of crashes among 16 year-old driversin the pre-GDL
yearsis not as apparent. The steady decline in crashes from 1994 through 2008 is not as
pronounced and the decline from young to old in any given year is not as recognizable. The
characteristic reduction from 1999 to 2000 is apparent and is larger than for crashes in general.
K eeping people with minimal driving experience off the road in times when they are tired and not
aert isagood thing.
Table3.13
Crash Rate from 10pm to 6am
by Age of Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)
1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16| 173| 165| 192 | 186 | 185| 180 8.8 6.6 6.6 4.7 6.1 6.3 4.3 51 5.0
17| 145| 151 | 179 191| 175| 180 | 144 | 148 | 160 | 173| 142 | 112 | 125| 127 9.4
18| 150| 185| 19.7| 198 | 184 | 217 | 197 | 234 | 208 | 173| 178 | 157| 141 | 175| 147
19| 140| 16.7| 16.7| 192| 129| 168 | 196 | 182 | 171 | 16.7| 159 | 138 | 140| 127 | 125
20| 115 138 | 128| 128| 124 | 140| 154 | 138| 154 | 166 | 132 | 110| 128 | 135| 122
21| 112 | 144 | 148| 152| 128 | 138 | 170| 173| 156| 160| 133 | 129 | 122 | 123| 127
22| 123| 122 | 110| 128| 111 | 105| 128 | 146 | 144| 163| 111 91| 124 | 122 | 116
23| 115 95| 133| 127| 110| 103| 114 | 10.7| 110| 11.7| 119 95| 122 | 118 9.6
24 73| 108 | 101 9.5 87| 107 9.0 9.0 9.9 78| 108 9.1 9.2 9.4 9.9

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

Delawar e State Police, Dover DE.

Table 3.13 contains the late night crash rates and shows a 51.1% reduction in that rate

between 1999 and 2000. The crash rates for 16 year-old drivers before GDL generally have

exceeded those of the 17 year-old driversin earlier tables. In Figure 3.6, the rates for the two
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groups are much closer together until GDL isintroduced in 2000. The crash rates for late night
GDL drivers have been falling over the last eight years, but not as uniformly as other categories.
Within any given year, thereis not as much improvement from age 20 to 24 compared to earlier
tables.

Using the data contained in Table 3.13 and graphed in Figure 3.6, both the program effect
and the general downward trend are present. The two effects were isolated using ordinary least
squares (OLS) regression. This analysis setsthe GDL effect for men to be -10.306 and the annual
decline as -0.235 for the 16 year-old drivers (adj. R?=.892, F=48.740, Sig.=.000). Thisaso
allows the computation of an adjusted percentage change between 1999 and 2000 of 59.18%
compared to the nominal 51.1% computed earlier. The differenceis the long term downward

trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute effect.

Figure 3.6
L ate Night Crash Rates
by Age of Driver and Y ear

Accidents per 1000 Drivers
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The 17 year-old driver’s performance produced an annual increase of -0.341 and aGDL
effect of -0.846, neither of which was statistically significant.

Several useful patterns emerged from the crash data. First, the statute has had its intended

effects. The 16 year-old drivers were constrained by limiting exposure on the roads and by
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increasing supervision. The result was a significant reduction in crashes of about 30% or greater.
This benefitted the GDL driver aswell as other drivers and passengers who may have been
injured in the crash. The reduction in property damage to the vehicles involved is an important
benefit aswell. Both male and female GDL drivers redized these benefits although amal€' s
benefits were somewhat larger. By 2008, the gap in crash rates between males and females had
closed substantialy.

The primary reason for the reductionsin crash rates amost surely is related to the
reduction in exposure (not measured here) dictated by the statute. As soon as the GDL drivers
turned 17 and were able to once again increase their exposure, the crash rates climbed back to the
usual levelsfor a 17 year-old driver. Thereis a slight downward trend in crash rates for 17 year-
old drivers which might be attributable to the program, or it may simply be an increase in the

number of GDL drivers who are 17, which can happen in a number of ways.

The data clearly shows that crash rates reach their peak with 17 year-old drivers, remain
high with only a dlight reduction among 18 year-old drivers. From that point on, the rates drift
lower. A case could be made to continue the GDL program for alonger period by extending the
second six month conditions of the current statute for an additional six or twelve months. This
would certainly reduce exposure in the late night hours where the largest reduction in crashes
attributable to the program was observed. The constraints on passengers would also serveto

reduce distractions, although this cannot be shown from this data.

In the next section, the impact of GDL drivers on traffic violations will be examined

using the same structure adopted here.
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Traffic Violations

Traffic violations are another indicator of both exposure and supervision. Driving
behavior as measured by the number and rate of traffic violations adds another dimension to the
evaluation. It isimportant to remember that there are awide variety of traffic violations that range
from very minor to extremely seriousissued by a variety of police departments. Thereis no
attempt here to weight the numbers. On the other hand, crashes will also vary from trivia to
catastrophic. They are both volume measures and it is assumed that the distribution of seriousness

will be ssmilar between age groups.

Table4.1
Total Violations
by Age of Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 | 2380 | 2498 | 2649 | 2956 | 3083 | 3544 | 2467 | 2394 | 2297 | 2245 | 2241 | 2237 | 2036 | 1919 | 1601
17| 3287 | 3668 | 4060 | 4573 | 4909 | 5668 | 5573 | 5389 | 5108 | 5049 | 5170 | 5290 | 5414 | 5570 | 5274
18 | 4180 | 4546 | 5031 | 5577 | 6227 | 7470 | 7303 | 7295 | 6846 | 6923 | 7012 | 7101 | 7699 | 8895 | 8258
10| 4393 | 4487 | 4543 | 5397 | 5908 | 7280 | 7327 | 7446 | 7015 | 7614 | 7702 | 7790 | 7846 | 8999 | 9348
20| 4017 | 4377 | 4338 | 4713 | 5235 | 6554 | 7152 | 7189 | 6770 | 7045 | 7359 | 7673 | 8351 | 8908 | 9323
21| 3994 | 4119 | 4218 | 4656 | 4652 | 6239 | 6643 | 6732 | 6980 | 7087 | 7331 | 7575 | 8220 | 9513 | 9172
22 | 4151 | 4042 | 4004 | 4464 | 4383 | 5721 | 6159 | 6488 | 6223 | 6732 | 7126 | 7520 | 8102 | 9357 | 9456
23| 4403 | 4344 | 3866 | 4140 | 4432 | 5102 | 5810 | 6232 | 6081 | 6571 | 6944 | 7317 | 7818 | 9471 | 9121
24 | 4273 | 4482 | 3968 | 4014 | 3938 | 5075 | 5071 | 5331 | 5301 | 5907 | 6547 | 7186 | 7769 | 8929 | 9185

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware
DELJIS, Dover, DE

Table 4.1 contains the count of traffic violations by age group for the 15 year period

covered by the evaluation. First of dl, thereis a 30.4% nomina decline in the number of

violations between 1999 and 2000 for 16 year-old drivers. However, the 2,467 violations in 2000
are not substantially different that the numbers observed in 1994 and 1995. Second, thereisa
declinein violations beginning in 2006 after a stable period. Third, any reduction in the GDL
driver’sviolations is overwhelmed by the violations one year later. Finaly, it is noteworthy that
thereisvery little decline in violations for the older groups within a given year. In other words,
traffic violations are not as related to age in contrast to the accident data where the trend was
substantial.

The violation rate is simply the number of violations divided by the number of Delaware
driversin the age group. For convenience, that calculation is multiplied by 1000 and theratesin
Table4.1 are violations per 1000 drivers.
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Table4.2
Violation Rate
by Age of Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006

2007

2008

16

433.0 | 442.4 | 449.8 | 494.8 | 509.3 | 580.1 | 402.3 | 394.8 | 377.3 | 365.0 | 359.2 | 350.6 | 313.9

277.3

244.8

17

471.8 | 5125 | 546.1 | 5934 | 672.3 | 745.7 | 7475 | 740.9 | 687.4 | 682.1 | 677.9 | 665.4 | 689.5

650.5

675.7

18

576.6 | 610.5 | 646.7 | 702.1 | 762.7 | 917.7 | 886.8 | 907.0 | 854.5 | 839.9 | 854.8 | 846.8 | 874.9

967.2

938.1

19

566.1 | 562.9 | 555.2 | 655.0 | 677.1 | 839.7 | 832.0 | 835.2 | 790.2 | 853.5 | 848.6 | 853.0 | 849.1

910.4

984.2

20

496.8 | 555.5 | 533.3 | 555.1 | 611.4 | 736.1 | 782.8 | 773.2 | 718.8 | 746.8 | 777.4 | 789.8 | 858.7

900.1

900.4

21

508.3 | 537.8 | 522.9 | 584.3 | 550.5 | 734.7 | 742.2 | 732.1 | 7453 | 747.1 | 772.2 | 786.4 | 824.5

949.8

849.6

22

4759 | 4754 | 4779 | 523.0 | 532.8 | 661.2 | 706.1 | 706.1 | 652.0 | 690.9 | 726.5 | 754.3 | 8114

902.0

907.7

23

438.5 | 4439 | 442.3 | 477.0 | 510.0 | 599.7 | 650.9 | 686.2 | 632.9 | 648.7 | 690.1 | 703.8 | 754.1

907.1

841.3

24

399.2 | 429.6 | 416.4 | 437.3 | 439.4 | 567.9 | 575.3 | 571.8 | 554.9 | 582.8 | 623.2 | 677.7 | 719.5

813.9

827.4

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

DELJIS, Dover, DE

The difference between 1999 and 2000 is a decline 30.7% including the trend effect and
the GDL effect. There isa shallow decline in the violation rate from 2000 through 2005 and then
amore significant decline though the remainder of the period. The 17 year-old drivers violation

rates increased significantly from 1994 through 2001 before beginning a shallow decline.

Figure4.l
Violation Rates
by Age of Driver and Y ear

Violations per 1000 Drivers
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Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware
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A close examination of the violation rates for the two youngest groups gives a better
picture of exposure than the accident rate. As exposure increases significantly moving from age
16 to age 17, the violation rate nearly doubles. From age 17 to age 18, the violation rate increases
another 25%. For ages 19 to 23, the rates are consistent with those observed for age 18. The rates
are generally the lowest at age 24. These different patterns are shown for three age groupsin
Figure 4.1, above.

Using the data contained in Table 4.2 and partially graphed in Figure 4.1, both the
program effect and the general downward trend are present but muted. The two effects were
isolated using ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This analysis setsthe GDL effect for men
to be -80.832 and the annual decline as -8.169 for the 16 year-old drivers (adj. R*=.650,
F=14.028, Sig.=.001). Thisalso allows the computation of an adjusted percentage change
between 1999 and 2000 of 17.4% compared to the nominal 30.7% computed earlier. The
difference isthe long term downward trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute
effect.

Table4.3
Violation Rate
by Cohort and Year
(per 1000 drivers)
1997 | 1998 | 1999 | Average 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | Average Net
1997-99 2000-02
16 | 494.8 | 509.3 | 580.1 528.1 402.3 | 394.8 | 377.3 391.5 -136.6
17 | 672.3 | 745.7 | 7475 721.8 740.9 | 687.4 | 682.1 703.5 -18.4
18 | 917.7 | 886.8 | 907.0 903.8 854.5 | 839.9 | 854.8 849.7 -54.1
19 | 832.0 | 835.2 | 790.2 819.1 853.5 | 848.6 | 853.0 851.7 32.6
20 | 773.2 | 718.8 | 746.8 746.3 7774 | 789.8 | 858.7 808.6 62.4
21| 7453 | 7471 | 772.2 754.9 786.4 | 824.5 | 949.8 853.6 98.7
22| 690.9 | 726.5 | 754.3 723.9 811.4 | 902.0 | 907.7 873.7 149.8

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

In Table 4.3 below, the three years before the implementation of GDL are compared to
the three years after implementation. In the 1997 column are displayed the traffic violation rates
for those who were 16 years old in 1997, and as they age through the next six years. While the
people in the cohort will change somewhat as time passes, it should be a good indicator of what
would have happened had the cohort remained intact. The average results for the first three
cohorts are shown in the fourth column. The three cohorts following GDL implementation are

treated similarly, yielding another three year average. The column labeled “Net” shows alarge
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difference for 16 year-old drivers of -136.6 (25.8%) for the post GDL period. The impact on the
GDL drivers when they become 17 is much less -18.4. By the time these cohorts age by three
years, they show increasesin violation rates. Thus, the pattern for the cohortsis quite consistent
with theresultsin Table 4.2. As exposure increases, violation rates increase. When exposure rates
begin to level out, the traffic violation rates do as well.

The analysis of crash ratesidentified different patters by gender. The violation data may
have similar or different relationships by gender. That datawill be examined next starting with a

look at the violations of male drivers, age 16 to 24.

Table4.4
Violations
by Ageof Male Driver and Y ear

1994

1995

1996

1997

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

16

1570

1655

1694

1804

1928

2244

1637

1526

1479

1411

1429

1446

1251

1187

1006

17

2248

2479

2758

3080

3128

3666

3685

3423

3231

3105

3271

3436

3509

3487

3319

18

2968

3246

3556

3837

4161

4904

4905

4853

4588

4597

4647

4696

5133

5908

5474

19

3148

3120

3069

3626

4042

4872

4896

5120

4679

5129

5125

5120

5068

5960

6276

20

2922

3108

2994

3134

3462

4440

4654

4645

4409

4727

4902

5077

5426

5758

6111

21

2851

2839

2852

3125

3095

4110

4416

4411

4467

4682

4841

4999

5402

6161

5819

22

2883

2823

2629

3019

2887

3737

3990

4211

4104

4330

4678

5025

5273

6086

6005

23

3010

2988

2638

2670

2909

3217

3757

4089

3903

4186

4489

4792

5274

6345

5951

24

2958

3060

2701

2704

2640

3321

3202

3471

3486

3869

4174

4478

4977

5810

5952

Source;

Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware
DELJIS, Dover, DE

The data for males contains much the same patterns as those observed earlier for all
drivers, Table 4.4. Thereisareduction in violations between 1999 and 2000 of 27% for drivers of
age 16. However, since the number of violations was rising during the period 1994 to 1999 and
the decline in 2000 was at alevel smilar to those measured during 1995 and 1996, it may be
difficult to assign this decline to the GDL. From 2000 to 2005, the number of violations attributed
to GDL drivers declined slowly. In the last three years, the rate of decline accel erated.

Looking at the datafor single years across age groups, the pattern previously identified
for dl driversis repeated. The 16 year-old males have the lowest number of violations without
exception. The 17 year-old drivers on average attract double the number of violations when
compared to those who were 16. In 2008, the number triples. The 18 year-old drivers exceed the
violations of the drivers of age 17 but only by athird to half. In other words the rate of growth of
violationsis slowing. Somewhere between 18 and 19 years of age, the number of violations peaks
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and begins a dow decline. This entire pattern suggests that violations are a function primarily of
exposure on the roadway. That exposure grows for males from age 16 to 19 and parallelsthe

relationship observed earlier for the dl drivers.

Table4.5
Violation Rate
by Age of Male Driver and Y ear
(per 1000 drivers)

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 602 619 609 634 676 782 569 476 520 493 493 | 492 418 366 333
17 656 705 735 794 857 980 | 1009 929 900 880 885 890 946 833 895
18 802 855 917 954 | 1019 | 1215 | 1194 | 1198 | 1142 | 1133 | 1140 | 1148 | 1170 | 1316 | 1244
19 801 774 743 870 926 | 1108 | 1104 | 1169 | 1049 | 1124 | 1131 | 1137 | 1099 | 1176 | 1332
20 709 774 723 732 809 977 | 1008 | 1006 916 997 | 1015 | 1034 | 1117 | 1171 | 1161
21 721 736 706 782 733 977 977 957 956 977 998 | 1018 | 1077 | 1222 | 1060
22 656 659 629 711 702 873 931 917 865 896 956 | 1016 | 1042 | 1183 | 1148
23 602 613 604 618 670 764 854 880 815 828 875 922 | 1025 | 1219 | 1086
24 549 582 561 584 589 750 739 732 746 764 811 858 924 | 1050 | 1069

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

In Table 4.5, the reduction in violations from 1999 to 2000 for the male GDL driver is
replicated by the violation rate which fell by 27.2%. The violation rates for those 16 year-old
drivers aso fell substantially from 2000 to 2008 predominantly in the last 3 years. Violation rates
generally peak when drivers reach the age between 18 and 19 years. For the older groups the
violation rates simply drift lower.

When these data are displayed graphically in 4.6, the difference in violation rate trends
over timeisalso interesting. All three series are rising through the first half of the time series. The
16 year-old trends turn down after the GDL statute was passed and continue to fall throughout the
remainder of the period. The line representing age 17 drivers stopped rising, then fell dightly, and
then remained relatively stable for the balance of the years. The line representing the 24 year-old
drivers diverged significantly after 1999. After briefly stabilizing, the violation rate grew rapidly
only slowing in 2008. During the entire period, the violation rate amost doubled for the oldest
group although it still islower than the preceding age groupsin 2008.
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Figure4.2
Violation Rates
by Ageof Male Driver and Y ear

Violations per 1000 Drivers
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Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Using the data contained in Table 4.5 and graphed in Figure 4.2, it is clear that both the
program effect and the general downward trend are present. The two effects were isolated using
ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This analysis setsthe GDL effect for men to be
101.348 and the annual decline as-12.013 for the 16 year-old drivers (R2=.665, F=14.893,
Sig.=.001). Neither coefficient was statistically significant, largely because the 1999-2000 shift
only returned to levels observed prior to 1997.

However, these estimates allow the computation of an adjusted percentage change
between 1999 and 2000 of 16.25% compared to the nominal 27.2% computed earlier. The
difference between the two calculations is that the long term downward trend has been removed
leaving only the GDL tatute effect.

The 17 year-old driver’'s performance produced an annual increase of 5.490 and aGDL
effect of 78.434, neither of which was statistically significant.
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Table 4.6
Violations
by Age of Female Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 809 843 955 | 1152 | 1155 | 1300 830 867 818 834 813 791 785 730 595
17| 1038 | 1189 | 1302 | 1493 | 1781 | 1998 | 1888 | 1966 | 1877 | 1944 | 1898 | 1852 | 1904 | 2083 | 1955
18 | 1212 | 1300 | 1475 | 1740 | 2066 | 2566 | 2398 | 2441 | 2258 | 2326 | 2365 | 2404 | 2566 | 2984 | 2784
19| 1245| 1367 | 1474 | 1771 | 1866 | 2408 | 2430 | 2326 | 2335 | 2485 | 2577 | 2669 | 2771 | 3037 | 3072
20| 1095 | 1269 | 1344 | 1579 | 1773 | 2114 | 2498 | 2544 | 2361 | 2318 | 2457 | 2596 | 2925 | 3150 | 3212
21| 1143 1280 | 1365 | 1531 | 1556 | 2129 | 2227 | 2321 | 2513 | 2405 | 2491 | 2576 | 2817 | 3352 | 3352
22| 1268 | 1219 | 1375 | 1445 | 1496 | 1984 | 2169 | 2276 | 2119 | 2402 | 2449 | 2495 | 2829 | 3266 | 3450
23| 1393 | 1356 | 1228 | 1470 | 1523 | 1885 | 2052 | 2143 | 2178 | 2385 | 2455 | 2524 | 2541 | 3124 | 3167
24| 1315| 1422 | 1266 | 1310 | 1298 | 1754 | 1869 | 1860 | 1814 | 2036 | 2372 | 2707 | 2786 | 3117 | 3233

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

The violation data for femalesis provided in Table 4.6. These data are similar to those for
males but with some notable differences. First, the rates for 16 year-old female drivers arerising
from 1994 to 1999. In 2000 as GDL is implemented the number of violations falls from 1300 to
830, anominal decline of 36.2%. From 2000 to 2008 the number of violations declines by 28.3%
in contrast to the steeper decline of 41.5% for males.

The patterns for 17 year-old female drivers are similar in that the violations amost
doubled from 1994 to 1999 and were basically flat over the rest of the period 2000-2008. As
usual, the year 2000 16 year-old female group (GDL) had similar violation levels as those who
did not go through the GDL process.

Males generally peaked in violation level s between age 18 and 19. Female violations
continue to rise after age 19 for a year or two before stabilizing or declining dightly. Over the
entire period 1994-2008, femal e violations more than double and thus are increasing faster than

those for male drivers.

It isimportant to note that females follow the same pattern for the early years 16-19 as
did males. Since it is reasonable to assume that violations are highly correlated to exposure on the
highways, the increases in violations being observed in the early years 16-19 are reflecting the

fact that these young drivers are simply driving more.
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Table4.7

Violation Rate

by Age of Female Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16 280 284 307 368 361 401 255 270 252 254 242 230 225 198 169
17 293 327 354 390 488 517 | 496 534 | 489 502 477 453 460 | 476 | 477
18 341 356 378 444 506 625 581 603 565 556 558 560 581 634 | 633
19 325 347 364 | 435 428 563 556 531 529 570 573 576 598 631 642
20 276 329 336 375 414 | 485 553 551 513 494 517 540 601 633 631
21 293 337 339 385 368 497 503 503 535 512 529 546 569 674 | 632
22 293 289 327 337 364 | 454 | 489 496 | 441 489 493 | 497 574 625 665
23 276 276 281 337 351 438 | 453 461 452 470 | 478 | 485 487 597 591
24 248 275 268 288 290 389 | 417 392 372 402 452 503 515 574 | 585

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware
DELJIS, Dover, DE

Female violation rates are found in Table 4.7 and are graphed in Figure 4.3 for drivers of
ages 16, 17, and 24. Thefirst point isthat the violation rate for females fell 36.4% nominaly, as
expected between 1999 and 2000. If you examine Figure 4.3, the graph shows afairly steady
increase in the rate prior to the implementation of GDL in 2000. After the start of the GDL
program there is a sharp drop in the violation rate to a level dightly below those observed in 1994
and 1995. From 2000 to 2008, thereis a gradua but steady declinein the rate.

Looking at the 16 year-old rate in 2000 and comparing it to the 17 year-old rate in 2001
(255 vs. 534), those in the program are at similar levels as other 17 year-old drivers prior to the
introduction of GDL. The same result occursif you examine each pair i.e. violation rate for 16
year-oldsin year one and 17 year-oldsin year two. This doesn’'t mean that the program effects

have largely vanished. More likely the reason is associated with increases in exposure.

The violation rates for females tend to moderate with age with the peak years between
ages 18 and 20. The general trend for the 18 to 24 age groupsis an increase of more than 100%
over the time period 1994-2008. This rapid riseisillustrated in Figure 4.3 by the line for 24 year-
old females. Itstrgjectory is decidedly different than that represented by the other two ages, 16
and 17. The reason for this apparent trend is no readily ascertainable from this data. Certainly
increasesin police presence, changesin statutes, changes in enforcement procedures, and more
aggressive driving by people are candidates. In any case, while thisis an interesting question it
does not impact on the evaluation of GDL.
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Figure4.3
Violation Rates
by Age of Female Driver and Y ear

Violations per 1000 Drivers
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Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Research, University of Delaware

Using the data contained in Table 4.7 and graphed in Figure 4.3, it is clear that both the
program effect and the general downward trend are present. The two effects were isolated using
ordinary least squares (OLS) regression. This analysis sets the GDL effect for femalesto be
-82.544 and the annual decline as -2.419 for the 16 year-old drivers (R2=.587, F=10.952,
Sig.=.002). Neither coefficient was statistically significant, largely because the 1999-2000 shift
only returned to levels only dightly below those observed prior to 1997.

However, these estimates alow the computation of an adjusted percentage change
between 1999 and 2000 of 16.25% compared to the nominal 36.4% computed earlier. The
difference isthe long term downward trend has been removed leaving only the GDL statute
effect.

Thefina tablein this section is Table 4.8 below, and it contains the ratio of mae
violation ratesto female violation rates. Thisratio isaway of representing that relationship over

time and age group.
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Table4.8
Ratio of Male Violation Rate to Female Violation Rate
by Age of Driver and Y ear

1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
16| 215| 218 198 | 172| 187 | 195| 223| 176| 206 | 194 | 204| 214 | 186| 185| 197
17| 224| 216| 208| 203 | 176| 190| 203| 174 184 | 175| 186| 19| 206| 1.75| 187
18| 235| 240 | 242 | 215 201 | 194| 205| 199| 202| 204 | 205| 205| 201| 207 197
19| 247| 223| 204| 200| 217| 197| 199| 220 198| 197| 197| 197| 184 | 186 | 207
20| 257| 236| 215| 195| 195| 201| 183| 183| 179| 202| 196| 191 | 18| 185 | 184
21| 246| 219| 208| 203| 199 197| 194| 19| 179| 191| 189 | 187 | 1.8 | 181 | 168
22| 224| 228| 192| 211| 193] 192| 190| 185| 19| 183| 194| 205| 181 | 18| 173
23| 218| 222| 215| 183| 191| 174 189| 191| 180| 1.76| 183| 190| 211 | 204 | 184
24| 222| 212 209| 203| 203 193] 177| 187| 201| 19| 180| 171 | 180 | 183| 183

Source: Center for Applied Demography & Survey Resear ch, University of Delaware

likely to be cited for aviolation as afemae. The 16 and 17 year-old drivers are very much the

same as the older groups with respect to thisratio. Asthe data moves from left to right, the ratio

The most notable point about thistableisthat the typical male driver is almost twice as

becomes smaller. Thisreflects a point made earlier that violation rates were declining more

rapidly for males than females hence reducing the ratio. The ratio changes modestly if at all asthe

table istraversed within asingle year.

The report concludes with a brief summary of the main findings in the final section.
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Observations

This evaluation was intended to determine if the Graduated Drivers License statute
worked as designed not only when it was implemented but also eight years later. Based on the
data gathered, the answer isyes. In the first year of the statute, 282 crashes did not happen and 72
of those would have involved personal injury. The GDL statute reduced the exposure of 16 year-
old driversin several ways and thus reduced their crash rate in overall crashes, personal injury
crashes, and late night crashes by the amounts listed bel ow:

Crash rates for drivers decreased by 30.8%;

e Crashratesinvolving personal injury decreased by 30.1%;

e Crash rates during the period 10pm-6am decreased by 59.1%;
e Crashratesinvolving male drivers decreased by 35.1%;

e Crashratesinvolving female drivers decreased by 28.8%.

The second finding is that the 16 year-old drivers do not perform any better at age 17
with respect to crashes than 17 year-old drivers from years preceding the implementation of the
statute. If further reduction in the 17 year-old drivers crash rates is desirable, this might be
achieved by extending the current law to include restrictions on unsupervised driving from 6

monthsto 12 or 18 months, based on the experience of those of age 16.

Thethird finding is that crash rates fall sharply as the driver ages from 16 to 24. The peak
age for crashesis currently between 17 and 18 years old. Those rates are nearly double what they
are a age 24.

The fourth finding is that personal injury crashes are roughly 25% of all crashes
independent of the age of the driver. Aswith dl crashes, personal injury crashes peak with drivers
of age 17 and 18. The rates for the 17-18 age groups are also nearly double what is observed for
age 24.

The fifth finding is that |ate night crashes were the most affected by the GDL statute. The
steep reduction in crashesislargely attributed to the constraints placed on GDL driversfrom 10
pm to 6am. Those constraints sharply limited their exposure on the roadways.
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The violation data produced similar but not as powerful results as the crash datafor
evaluating the GDL statute. It provesto be an excellent method for measuring exposure to the

state' s roadways and perhaps allows the separation of experience from driver behavior.

e Violation ratesfor drivers of age 16 decreased by 17.4%;
e Violationsinvolving male drivers decreased by 20.6%;
e Violationsinvolving female drivers decreased by 25.2%.

The statistics cited here show the reductions in violations attributable to the GDL
program were somewhat less than those for crashes. The really sharp downward trend in
crashes across the age groups is not found in the violation data. Violations trend downward

but very slowly.
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Delawar e’ s Graduated License Statute
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CHAPTER 27. DRIVER'S LICENSE

§ 2710. Issuance of a Level 1 Learner's Permit and Class
D operator's license to persons under 18 years of age.

(@) The Division, upon receiving from any person over the age
of 16 years, an application for a Level 1 Learner's Permit,
together with the fee required by law, may, in its discretion,
issue such a permit entitling the applicant, with such a permit in
the applicant's immediate possession, to drive a motor vehicle
upon the highways of this State provided they meet all
requirements for the permit. Eye screening and medical
examinations will be required in accordance with Division
policies.

The Division may issue a distinctively designed Level 1
Learner's Permit document or issue the permit holder a Class D
license encased in a packet which explains the driver's limited
driving privileges. If the permit holder completes the 12-month
driving experience and the sponsor does not withdraw their
endorsement, the Division will notify the permit holder by mail
that the permit holder is eligible for a Class D license. The time
used to compute the 12 months of driving experience shall not
include any period of time when the permit holder's driving
privileges were suspended, revoked, canceled, denied or
surrendered.

(b) Level 1 Learner's Permit. -- A person who is at least 16
years old but less than 18 years old may obtain a Level 1
Learners Permit if the person has:

(1) Successfully completed a course in driver education
in @ public or private high school in this State, which has been
approved by the Department of Education and meets the
standards for such courses described by that Department. If the
applicant has completed a course of instruction in driver
education in a public or private high school outside this State,
the applicant must produce a certified copy of that applicant's
high school transcript evidencing the completion of the driver
education course;

(2) Passed a written test and road skills test
administered by the Division or administered by a driver
education teacher. Students who require specialized evaluation,
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training or equipment to operate a motor vehicle because of a
physical or mental disability will be identified by the driver
education teacher and tested by the Division;

(3) Been certified by the driver education teacher as
qualified for licensing; and

(4) Submitted an application signed by a sponsor as
required by subsection (e) of this section.

(c) Restrictions pertaining to the Level 1 Learner's Permit. --
A learner's permit authorizes the permit holder to drive the
specified type or class of motor vehicles as those defined under
§ 2702(d)(1) of this title for 12 months only under the
conditions listed below. If the learner's permit expires, the
applicant will pay the appropriate fees and pass a written and
road skills examination conducted by the Division.

(1) The Level 1 Learners Permit must be in possession of
the permit holder.

(2) When the permit holder is under mandatory
supervision, the permit holder must be supervised by a properly
licensed parent, guardian or a licensed driver at least 25 years
of age who has held a Class D license for at least 5 years. The
supervising driver must be seated beside the permit holder in
the front seat of the vehicle when it is in motion. No person
other than the supervising driver can be in the front seat.

(3) For the first 6 months after issuance, the permit
holder may only drive supervised. In order for the permit holder
to be able to drive unsupervised as called for in paragraph
(c)(4) of this section, a parent or guardian shall certify that the
permit holder has completed 50 hours of driving time, which
shall include 10 hours of nighttime driving. This certification
form shall be developed by the Division of Motor Vehicles,
Department of Education and Department of Highway Safety
and shall be signed by the parent or guardian and submitted to
a Department of Education approved program at the end of this
6 month period.

(4) After the first 6 months from issuance, the permit
holder may drive unsupervised between the hours of 6:00 a.m.
and 10:00 p.m. Such a permit holder may drive only with
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supervision from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. with the exception of
times when the permit holder is traveling to and from church
activities, work activities and the permit holder's school. For
purposes of this section, the term "school" shall not include
school-related activities that do not take place on school
property.

(5) No passengers other than the adult supervisor and 1
or fewer other passengers can be in the vehicle during the first
12 months. However, the passenger restrictions of this
paragraph shall not apply to immediate members of the driver's
family provided the adult supervisor is in the car. During the
second 6 month period of unsupervised driving, when a
supervisor is not present, only 1 other passenger in addition to
the driver can be in the vehicle.

(6) The restrictions of paragraph (c)(4) of this section
shall not apply to those individuals who are Delaware volunteer
fire fighters and ambulance attendants as long as they have
permission from their fire chief or ambulance captain in writing
with the permit referenced in paragraph (c)(1) of this section
and are returning home from their company stations or place of
education or training relating to their respective duties for the
sole purpose of either an emergency response, an official fire or
ambulatory meeting, or education or training relating to said
duties.

(7) The permit holder and all passengers, under the age
of 18, in the vehicle must wear a seat belt or be secured in a
child safety seat or booster seat as required by § 4802 or §
4803 of this title when the vehicle is in motion.

(8) The permit holder shall not operate a motor vehicle
while using a cellular telephone, text messager, or substantially
similar electronic device. This paragraph shall not apply if the
permit holder has stopped the vehicle at a location off of the
lanes of travel. Any permit holder found to be in violation of this
paragraph is deemed to be operating the vehicle in a negligent
manner and is subject to the penalties set forth in subsection (j)
of this section.

(d) Class D license qualifications. -- A person who is at least
17 years old but less than 18 years old may obtain a Class D
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operator's license if the person meets the following
requirements:

(1) The person has held a Level 1 Learner's Permit
issued by the Division for at least 12 months; and

(2) The person has an application signed by a sponsor as
specified in subsection (e) of this section. The sponsor's
signature on the Level 1 Learner's Permit application authorizes
the minor to obtain the Class D operator's license when eligible
unless the sponsor withdraws, in writing, their authorization for
any such license or permit.

(e) The Division shall not grant the application of any minor
between the ages of 16 years and 18 years for a operator's
license or Level 1 Learner's Permit unless such application is
signed both by the applicant and a sponsor who is the
applicant's parent, guardian, Division of Family Services case
worker or court-ordered custodian who resides in this State.

(1) Nevertheless, if the applicant has no parent,
guardian, Division of Family Services case worker or court-
ordered custodian residing in the State to act as the applicant's
sponsor, another responsible adult person acceptable to the
Secretary of Transportation who resides with the applicant in
this State may sign the application.

(2) The following sponsors are listed in order of
preference:

a. Father or mother of the minor if both parents are
living together within this State and the minor resides with both
parents.

b. Father of the minor, if the father is living within
this State, and the minor resides with the father only; mother of
the minor, if the mother is living within this State, and the
minor resides with the mother only; or father or mother, if the
father or mother live within this State, and the minor resides
with neither parent, and the minor has no legal guardian within
this State;




Delaware’ s Graduated Drivers License Statute: An Evaluation Appendix A

c. Guardian, Division of Family Services case worker
or court-ordered custodian of the minor, duly appointed, as
such, under the laws of this State; or

d. Any suitable person acceptable to the Secretary
of Transportation.

(3) The Department shall not require as a prerequisite to
the issuance of a license to a minor under this section, that the
father, mother, guardian, Division of Family Services case
worker or court-ordered custodian who signs the minor's driver
license application be present at the time the application is
made by minor or sign the application at the offices of the
Division of Motor Vehicle. The signing of the application and
acknowledgment thereof, by the parent, guardian, Division of
Family Services case worker or court-ordered custodian before a
notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths
shall be deemed sufficient to satisfy the requirements of this
section. However, sponsors designated in paragraph (e)(2)d. of
this section shall sign the minor's license application in the
presence of a Division representative.

(4) The sponsor who signs the driver's license application
on behalf of a minor has final authority to determine if the
minor is capable of handling the responsibility of operating a
motor vehicle and authority to designate who can supervise the
minor driver per paragraph (c)(2) of this section. The sponsor
who signed the application on behalf of the minor can withdraw
their endorsement at any time until the minor reaches age 18,
thereby canceling the minor's driving authority regardless of the
type of permit or license held. If the court terminates the
custody order and the minor subsequently resides with a parent
in this State, then the parent may cancel the driving privileges
of the minor under this section. To reinstate the canceled
driving privileges, an approved sponsor must sign the
application on behalf of the minor. When the minor turns 18,
they can reinstate their previously held driving privileges
without a sponsor's signature. The applicant can reinstate the
driving privileges of a canceled license when they meet the
license requirements and pay the appropriate license fee.

(5) It shall be unlawful for any person to sign the
application of a minor under the provisions of this section when
such application misstates the age of the minor or
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misrepresents the sponsor's relationship to the minor. Any
person who violates this provision shall be guilty of a class B
misdemeanor, and both the minor applicant and the sponsor's
driving privileges shall be suspended for 2 months per §
2733(a)(5) of this title.

(6) It is unlawful for a sponsor to knowingly allow the
holder of a Level 1 Learner's Permit to drive in violation of
paragraph (c)(2) of this section. A sponsor who violates this
provision is guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor.

(f) Out-of-state driver license transfer. -- A person who is at
least 16 years old but less than 18 years old, who was a
resident of another state and has a driver's license issued by
that state, and who becomes a resident of this State may obtain
Delaware driving authority under the following conditions:

(1) If the applicant was issued the out-of-state driver's
license for less than 12 months, they are eligible to apply for a
Level 1 Learner's Permit when meeting the requirements under
subsection (b) of this section and successfully completing a
driver education training program approved by the Delaware
Department of Education.

(2) If the applicant was issued the out-of-state driver's
license for over 12 months, and has successfully completed a
driver education training program approved by the Delaware
Department of Education, that applicant is eligible to apply for a
Class D operator's license after meeting the requirements of
subsection (e) of this section. Additionally, such a minor
applicant must pass a written and road skills examination
conducted by the Division.

(3) If the applicant holds an out-of-state driver's license
and that applicant is over 18 years old, that applicant can apply
for a Delaware Class D operator's license under §§ 2712 and
2713 of this title.

(g) Duration and fees. -- A Level 1 Learner's Permit expires
12 months after the date of issuance. If the applicant's learner's
permit expires, the permit shall be void. The permit can be
reissued when the applicant meets the permit requirements.
The applicant must pay the $25 Class D license fee at the time
of initial application.
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(h) It is unlawful for the holder of a Level 1 Learner's Permit
to operate a motor vehicle in violation of the restrictions that
apply to the Level 1 Learner's Permit. Failure to comply with
these restrictions constitutes operating a motor vehicle without
a license under § 2701(a) of this title.

(i) The Division shall not issue an operator's license or Level 1
Learner's Permit to a person who has not reached the person's
18th birthday at the time of the offense if the person has been
adjudicated delinquent as a result of acts which would constitute
such an offense if committed by an adult as set forth in §
2732(a) of this title.

(j) The Department may immediately suspend a minor's
permit, license and/or driving privileges whenever the
Department has reason to believe that such person is a reckless
or negligent driver of a motor vehicle or has committed a
serious moving traffic violation. The Secretary may promulgate
policy regulations more stringent than those that apply to other
drivers when suspending minors. The suspension period will be
for | month for the first suspension and 3 months for
subsequent suspensions under this subsection. No suspension
under this section shall be used by a motor vehicle insurance
company licensed to sell insurance in this State as a basis for
canceling a policy of insurance or to raise the premium cost to
the insured.

(k) Driver education learner's permit. -- The Division, upon
receiving proper notice that a person is currently enrolled in a
driver's education course and successfully completed the
minimum class hours of actual driving experience and in-the-car
observation as approved by the Department of Education, may
issue a driver education learner's permit to such person after
the person's 16th birthday, provided the person meets all other
Division requirements. The Division may issue a driver
education learner's permit to those minors who meet the
requirements of this section and need supervised driving
experience before completing the road skill test. The 5-year
driver license fee shall be collected at the time of the
application. The permit is valid for 4 months. If for any reason
whatsoever the applicant fails to pass the required examinations
during the 4-month period granted by the permit, the permit
shall be void and the driver license fee shall be forfeited. The
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application must be signed by the sponsor pursuant to
subsection (e) of this section.

(1) Any person issued a driver education learner's permit
pursuant to this subsection is entitled to drive a motor vehicle
described in § 2702(d)(1) of this title upon the highways only
when supervised by a properly licensed parent or guardian. If
the parent(s) or guardian(s) is (are) not licensed to operate a
motor vehicle or the permit holder is in the custody of the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families,
the holder of the driver education learner's permit must be
supervised by a licensed driver who is 25 years of age or older
and have held a Class D drivers license for at least 5 years. The
supervising driver must be seated beside the permit holder in
the front seat of the vehicle when it is in motion. No person
other than the supervising driver can be in the front seat.

(2) The driver education learner's permit must be in the
possession of the permit holder.

(3) No passengers other than the adult supervisor and 1
or fewer other passengers can be in the vehicle. However, this
passenger limit does not apply to members of the driver's
immediate family.

(4) Driving experience obtained while holding this permit
will be counted towards and in conjunction with the driving
experience restrictions contained in subsection (c)(3) of this
section.

(5) The permit holder shall not operate a motor vehicle
while using a cellular telephone, text messager, or substantially
similar electronic device. This paragraph shall not apply if the
permit holder has stopped the vehicle at a location off of the
lanes of travel. Any permit holder found to be in violation of this
paragraph is deemed to be operating the vehicle in a negligent
manner and is subject to the penalties set forth in subsection (j)
of this section.

36 Del. Laws, c. 10, § 56; 37 Del. Laws, c. 10, § 17; Code
1935, § 5594; 41 Del. Laws, c. 228, § 2; 44 Del. Laws, c. 192;
45 Del. Laws, c. 285; 21 Del. C. 1953, § 2708; 50 Del. Laws, c.
262, § 1; 53 Del. Laws, c. 221, § 20, 56 Del. Laws, c. 390, § 2;
58 Del. Laws, c. 511, § 44; 59 Del. Laws, c. 327, § 2; 62 Del.
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Laws, c. 156, § 1, 62 Del. Laws, c. 237, § 19, 64 Del. Laws, c.
355, § 1, 65 Del. Laws, c. 77, §§ 1, 2; 67 Del. Laws, c. 25, §§
1, 2; 69 Del. Laws, c. 327, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 71
Del. Laws, c. 282, § 1, 72 Del. Laws, c. 344, §§ 1, 2; 72 Del.
Laws, c. 477, §§ 1, 3, 4; 73 Del. Laws, c. 42, § 1; 74 Del. Laws,
c. 110, §§ 56, 57; 74 Del. Laws, c. 324, § 1, 75 Del. Laws, c.
15,88 1,2; 75 Del. Laws, c. 377, § 1-3; 76 Del. Laws, c. 76, §
21; 76 Del. Laws, c. 260, §§ 5, 6, 76 Del. Laws, c. 293, § 1; 76
Del. Laws, c. 415, §§ 1-5.;




