
 
 
It has been a little over a year since the Hands Free law in Delaware went into effect.  
How has the law changed the way you view using a cell phone or mobile device while 
you are driving?  OHS would like to see everyone pledge to avoid distractions while 
behind the wheel of a car.  Remember, one text or call could wreck it all. 

What you need to know 

Distracted driving.  You’ve heard it, but did you know that distracted driving in 
Delaware is actually careless or inattentive driving?  Consider the following: 

 Operating a vehicle in a careless manner without regard for road, 
weather, or traffic conditions is careless driving. 

 Failing to give full time and attention to the operation of a vehicle or 
failing to maintain a proper lookout is inattentive driving. 

The Hands Free law states that no one may use a mobile device while driving a 
motor vehicle, with penalties ranging from $50 - $200 plus court costs. 
 
What you can do 

Do your best to manage distractions. There are some distractions that you 
cannot control:  the traffic, pedestrian activity, the weather.  And, there are some 
distractions that you can control:  the radio, the temperature, your cell phone.  
Here are some tips to help you manage the distractions in your daily commute: 
 

 Place your cell phone on silent, and leave it a designated place in your car. 

 If you must stay connected, activate blue tooth technology before you leave your 

parking space. 

 Pre-set radio and temperature controls. 

You can find more information about distracted driving at www.ohs.delaware.gov 
and www.distraction.gov.   

 
Drive Safe.  Arrive Alive DE. 

This message is being sent to you the Office of Highway Safety, who asks you to drive 
safely at all times.  For more information on this and other traffic safety programs, go to 

www.ohs.delaware.gov.   
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