
The four steps to obtaining a license
You must be at least 16 years old to begin the GDL program and 

at least 17 years old to obtain a Class D unrestricted license.

1. Pass a state-approved driver education program and receive a Blue
Certificate. Take Blue Certificate, original birth certificate and social
security card to the DMV and apply for the Level One Learner’s Permit
(requires an eye exam, a $12.50 application fee and your sponsor’s 
signature).

2. Six months of supervised driving at all times with the Delaware Level
One Learner’s Permit (your Class D license sealed in a plastic folder), as
well as sponsor certification of 50 driving hours, 10 of which include
nighttime driving.

3. Six months of unsupervised driving during daytime hours and supervised
driving during nighttime hours (10 p.m.–6 a.m.) with the Delaware
Level One Learner’s Permit. Exceptions for church, work and some
school activities exist.

4. Level One Learner’s Permit will automatically convert to a Class D
license upon completion of 12 months of required driving experience.
Remove license from the sealed packet. Any amount of time the permit
is suspended or revoked does not count towards computing the 12
months of required driving time.
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Delaware’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program is designed
to give young drivers additional practical driving experience under
the safest possible conditions, motivating them to drive responsibly

and graduate to the next level.



Rules & Penalties

• You must always be in possession of your
permit when driving a motor vehicle.

• Your driving supervisor must be either your
parent/guardian or a licensed driver at
least 25 years old who has held a Class D
license for a minimum of five years.

• No passengers other than the driving supervisor
and one other non-related passenger may be
in your vehicle during the first year.

• The driving supervisor must sit in the front
passenger seat.

• The driver and all passengers must wear seat belts.You face a ticket
and suspension of your permit for 2 months if caught not buckled up.

• You cannot use your cell phone while driving, except in the case of an
emergency.You will lose your license for a month if you are caught on
your phone while driving.

• Violating Level One Learner’s Permit restrictions results in a 2-month
permit suspension for the first offense; a 4-month suspension for each 
additional offense. Any amount of time your permit is suspended does
not count toward computing your required 12 months of driving on
your permit, and will delay your ability to get your unrestricted license.

The sponsor

• Must sign the license application and is the final authority to determine
if a minor is capable of handling the responsibility of operating a motor
vehicle, as well as designating who may supervise the minor driver.

• Can withdraw endorsement at any time, thereby canceling the license
of the minor driver until the driver reaches age 18.

• Helps develop the new driver’s skills and ability to avoid being involved
in a crash.

• Is liable for all damages if their child causes a crash. (May be liable
for damages even if their teen driver is operating someone else’s car.)

For more information, visit www.dmv.de.gov 
or www.state.de.us/highway.


