
Guide to

Safely  
Navigating 
the Road 
Ahead

1st Edition

For use on all highways,  
byways, roads & streets.

The State of Delaware’s 

Office of  
Highway  
Safety

Delaware

IN CASE OF AC MALFUNCTION, 
THIS BOOKLET CAN BE USED 
AS A FAN.

1. 	Hold booklet in hand.

2. Move to and fro.

3. Fast.

In case of 
Emergency

This booklet made 

courtesy of the Delaware 

Office of Highway Safety—

to help guide you through 

the many twists and turns 

on the road.



This manual  
is filled with  

tips, tricks,  
suggestions and  
some helpful hints 

to help you stay safe  

and make the most of  

your driving experience  

on Delaware’s highways,  

byways, side streets,  

cul-de-sacs and  

occasional roundabouts. 
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RULES 
of the  

ROAD
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Aggressive Driving
Aggressive driving happens every day, and almost 

everyone has driven aggresively. You might not 

realize you are considered an aggressive driver, 

but if you have ever done any of the following 

while driving, law enforcement might consider  

you an aggressive driver. 

If an officer witnesses you committing, in continuous 

conduct, three or more of those moving violations, 

he or she can cite you for aggressive driving. That 

ticket comes with fines up to $1,000, six points 

on your driver’s license and a mandatory driver 

behavior course.  

Dui Laws
You probably already know, but drinking and 

driving is not only socially unacceptable, but 

also illegal and very dangerous. You could 

seriously injure—or kill—someone. Remember, 

Buzzed Driving is Drunk Driving. 

Delaware’s blood alcohol content (BAC) legal 

limit is .08. Even if you think you are below .08 

and okay to drive, here is what could happen to 

you if you are arrested for driving impaired: 

The Law

� You’ll pay significantly 
higher auto insurance 

premiums.

You’ll have an  instant  
criminal record.

You could possibly do  

jail time.

Wouldn’t you agree:  

A cab ride is much,  

much cheaper. 

You’ll lose your  
driver’s license.

You’ll pay an average of 
$6,300 in fines, court 

costs and attorney fees.

$6,300

You’ll do mandatory  
alcohol and drug counseling 
(at a cost of about $900). 

$900

You could get an Ignition  
Interlock device (at a  
cost to you of $480).

$480

Your second DUI will cost  
you around $7,000.

$7,000

Your third DUI will cost  
you about $10,000.

$10,000

Speeding

Running stop signs

Not using turn signals

Unsafe lane changes (cutting off other drivers)

Failing to yield to other drivers

Ignoring other traffic signs and signals

 � Passing on the right or over double yellow  
lines or in a no passing zone

Running red lights

Tailgating
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Distracted driving,  
careless/inattentive driving, 
aggressive/reckless driving
There are all kinds of driving. However, some of  

them come with fines and penalties, all of which  

are outlined in Delaware Code Title 21 Chapter 41—

Rules of the Road. Anyone who fails to give his/her 

full attention and maintain a proper lookout while 

driving can be found guilty of inattentive driving.  

So if you are doing any of the following while 

driving, please remember that driving comes first—

the rest can wait.  

Distracted driving with 
handheld electronic 
communication devices
Delaware’s cell phone law bans drivers from  

using any handheld electronic communication 

device while driving. You may talk with a  

hands-free device only. No texting!

Fines and fees are $106 for the first offense,  

and up to $300 for subsequent offenses.

Since the law went into effect on January 2, 2011, 

Delaware law enforcement officers have issued 

more than 20,000 cell phone tickets statewide. 

Vulnerable Users Law 
The Vulnerable Users Law increases the 

penalties for distracted drivers who cause 

serious physical injury to cyclists, pedestrians, 

motorcyclists, mopeds or other vulnerable road 

users. The law’s sentencing guidelines include:

1 Completion of a traffic safety course

1 Up to 100 hours of community service 

1 Fines up to $550

1 License suspension

The Law

Eating, drinking or smoking

Texting on your cell phone

Shaving, putting on makeup  
or grooming yourself in any way 

Deciphering a road map, reading  
a novel or taking notes

Engaging in arguments with passengers

Focusing attention on children or pets

Changing the radio,  
CD or MP3

Retrieving unsecured 
cargo or objects

f

A

For more information go to:  
www.ohs.delaware.gov/cellphone
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CLICK IT OR TICKET
Besides the fact that wearing a seat belt 

decreases your risk of being seriously injured  

or killed in a crash by around 50%, it’s the law. 

And a pretty good one at that.

Delaware Seat Belt laws

1 �Everyone in the vehicle, including backseat 

passengers and children, must wear their 

seat belts properly. 

1 �Lap and shoulder belts must be worn. 

Shoulder belts cannot be placed behind  

the back or under the arm. 

1 �If pulled over, the driver will receive an 

$83.50 ticket if anyone in the car is found  

not properly secured by a seat belt. So make 

sure everybody buckles up—including kids.

HOW not TO WEAR  
YOUR SEAT BELT
Seat belts work best (that is, keep you  

from injury or worse) only when you wear 

them properly: 

The Law

never 
behind 
the back

never 
behind 
the arm

never 
laying 
back in 
the seat 

www.ohs.delaware.gov/seatbelt
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helmets
Delaware law requires all motorcycle riders  

to have a DOT-approved helmet on their bike.  

So if there are two riders, there must be two 

helmets on the bike. However, if you’re under 

19 you have to actually be wearing the helmet. 

(And eye protection, as well.) But, even if you 

are over 19, we would prefer that you too wear  

a helmet.
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Which car seat  
is right for you?
Well, more specifically, which car seat is right  

for your child? 

Children must always ride facing  

the rear. No exceptions! No matter 

how cute! 

�Children should continue to ride 

facing the rear until they reach  

the height and weight limit for rear-

facing use on that seat. This means 

some kids may ride facing the rear 

until they’re age 2 or older.

�Keep children in a forward-

facing seat with a harness to the 

maximum height and weight limit 

allowed by the seat. Then transition 

them to a booster seat.
�

Keep children in a booster seat  

until they meet the criteria for 

fitting appropriately in a seat belt:

1 �The shoulder belt should lie 

across the shoulder and chest,  

not across the neck or face. 

1 �The lap belt must lie across the 

upper thighs, not the stomach.

Use Shelf Liner
Many parents try to protect their seats by 

putting a towel under the car seat. This can  

be dangerous. Not as dangerous as putting 

vipers or firecrackers beneath the car seat,  

but a towel creates too much space between 

the car seat and the vehicle seat, and makes it 

easier for the car seat to slide out of position. 

Instead, try using a sheet of rubber shelf 

liner from the dollar store. These sheets are 

extremely thin, and provide a good gripping 

surface, especially on leather seats.

If you have any questions or concerns about  

the snugness or fit of your car seat, please 

consult a Fitting Station tech.

car seat safety

Up to the  
age of

two

ages 

2–3

ages 

4–7

ages 

8–12

OHS FITTING STATIONS
Frustrated with the instructions that came  

with your car seat? Well, then just take it  

to one our OHS Car Seat Fitting Stations.  

No charge. We’re just happy to help. 

Wilmington DMV  |  2230 Hessler Blvd.

Tuesdays & Thursdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Wednesdays from 4 to 8 p.m.

302.434.3234

Dover DMV  |  303 Transportation Circle

Wednesdays from 4 to 8 p.m.

302.744.2749

DSP Troop 7—Lewes  |  18006 Coastal Hwy.

One Saturday each month

302.387.2324

Please call the Fitting Station nearest you  

for an appointment.
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Assorted weather  
driving tips
Snow 

Accelerate s-l-o-w-l-y. It’s slippery out there. 

Applying the gas too quickly will only make  

your tires spin. And spin. And spin. And spin. 

Use a light touch on the brakes to prevent 

skidding into the middle of an intersection. 

Approach curves and turns cautiously. Going 

too fast can send you into a spin or a ditch or—

worse—another car.  

This may seem obvious, but do not use cruise 

control on a snowy highway. 

Before going up a hill, get some momentum  

going. Don’t stop in the middle! And don’t floor 

it! Flooring it will only make the wheels spin  

and send you backwards. 

All-wheel drive (AWD) does not make you 

impervious to winter conditions. AWD can help 

you get going in the snow, but it doesn’t help  

you stop on ice or go around a slippery turn. 

Rain 

A lot of the same advice for driving in the snow 

applies to driving in the rain: Drive slower, use  

a light touch on the brakes, don’t floor it, etc. 

The biggest danger when driving in the rain  

is hydroplaning. 

Hydroplaning happens when the tread on a  

tire encounters more water than it can handle. 

The resulting water pressure forces water under 

the tire, causing it to lift off of the road. And 

that’s not good. Not good at all. 

So, what do you do?

Slow down.

And no hard braking. 

On the highway, try to drive in the tire 

tracks left by the car in front of you. 

And remember to always use your headlights  

in the rain, day or night. 

drive safe

The main reason for using your headlights in  

these conditions is not so much to help you see,  

but to help other drivers see you. 

Use your low beams in fog. Using your high beams 

will cause the light from your headlights to reflect 

off the fog and back at you, making it harder to see.

When to use your headlights  (besides in the dark of night)

In the rain, snow, fog and dusk

Anytime you are using your wipers

 � During dust storms (true, there aren’t a 
lot of dust storms in Delaware, but if there 

ever is one, turn on your headlights)
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Pedestrian safety
If you are driving in a neighborhood, slow down 

and be on the lookout for kids. They tend to dart 

out from nowhere. 

If you are driving in a beach or tourist town,  

look out for everybody. Because some of them  

are not paying attention. They’re all on vacation 

and sometimes thinking more of getting to the 

next attraction than paying attention to traffic. 

Pedestrian crossing law 

Motorists must yield to pedestrians within  

a crosswalk. Pedestrians may not step into a 

crosswalk if doing so will cause an immediate 

hazard to traffic. Pedestrians must yield to 

motorists if crossing the road at an unmarked 

intersection or unmarked crosswalk.

on & Off the road

If you encounter an 
aggressive driver  
on the road
First and foremost, make every attempt to get  

out of the driver’s way. Do not challenge him or  

her by speeding up or attempting to hold your  

own. Don’t make eye contact. Ignore gestures. 

Call 911 as soon as you can safely do so.  

The sooner the better.

Provide police dispatchers with a vehicle description 

(color, make, model, size, number of doors), direction  

of travel and a license plate number if possible.

If an aggressive driver is involved in a crash farther 

down the road, stop a safe distance from the crash 

scene, wait for the police to arrive and report the 

driving behavior that you witnessed.

     Look out for motorcycles
When driving behind or near a motorcycle, 

increase your space and following distance 

around the motorcyclists. Motorcyclists often 

slow by down-shifting or merely rolling off the 

throttle, thus not activating the brake light. Allow 

more following distance,  three or four seconds. 

At intersections, predict a motorcyclist may slow 

down without visual warning.

Stopping distance for motorcycles is nearly the 

same as for cars, but slippery pavement makes 

it difficult to stop quickly. Allow more following 

distance behind a motorcycle because you can’t 

always stop “on a dime.”

Cross only at crosswalks or intersections  

with signals or traffic signs.

� If there isn’t a sidewalk, walk facing traffic  

and as far off the road as possible.

� Carry a flashlight or other reflective items  

when walking at night. No ninja costumes. 

Don’t hitchhike. 

If you happen to be a pedestrian 

Do not walk under the influence of drugs 

or alcohol. (You’d be surprised how many 

people get killed this way.)

www.motorcyclesafetyde.org
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Bicycle safety

PASSING A BICYCLE
Did you know that Delaware is one 

of the top 10 most bicycle-friendly 

states in the union? Which means 

you’re likely to encounter a few 

pedalers on your travels. Which means you’ll 

need these rules to safely pass a cyclist. 

1 �When approaching a bicyclist traveling in 

the same direction, leave a three-foot (3´) 

passing distance between your motor vehicle 

and the bicycle. 

1 �If you can’t achieve a three-foot (3´) passing 

distance, reduce your speed by at least ten 

(10) miles per hour below the posted speed 

limit before attempting to pass the bicycle.

CYCLING SAFETY
Even though you don’t need a license to ride 

a bike, there are still a few rules that go along 

with operating one. 

1 �Cyclists must ride with traffic and never 

against traffic and must follow all traffic  

laws and signals. 

1 �Anyone under the age of 18 must wear  

a bicycle helmet.

1 �Parents are responsible for ensuring that 

their children follow all safety and traffic  

laws when riding their bikes on the roads. 

1 �Cyclists should indicate with hand signals 

when making turns. (Please see the hand 

signal diagram for proper hand signaling 

technique.) 

For more information on cycling in 

Delaware, please visit the Delaware Bicycle 

Council at www.deldot.gov/information/

community_programs_and_services/bike

bicycle hand signals

Right  
turn

left  
turn

stop

OR

Stay Awake!  
Drowsy Driving
Never drive while tired. If you find yourself 

dozing off while driving, pull over to a rest area 

or parking lot (not on the side of the roadway). 

Take a quick little catnap to feel refreshed. 

Or call someone to pick you up and take you 

home. You’ll wind up safely at your destination. 

Instead of upside-down in a ditch. 
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Merging into traffic
Look around.  Check your mirrors. Be aware  

of nearby vehicles, especially those next to you 

and behind you. If a vehicle is blocking your 

entrance to the highway, slow down so that you 

can try to merge in behind it.

Speed up.  Before merging onto the highway,  

you need to be driving near highway speed. If the 

acceleration lane is long enough, accelerate to 

match the speed of the vehicles on the highway.

Signal.  Put on your turn signal to let drivers 

around you know your intentions. Seeing your 

signal, the drivers on the highway will adjust  

their lane position to allow you on the highway.

Check your blind spot.  Even though you have 

checked your mirrors, double-check your blind 

spot by turning your head toward the highway. 

Just in case there might be a motorcycle. 

Accelerate into the open space.  When there 

is space for you on the highway, merge into that 

space, bringing your vehicle up to highway speed  

as quickly as possible.

Remember, vehicles already on the highway have 

the right of way. And big, diesel-smoke-belching 

18-wheelers really, really have the right of way. 

And if you’re already on the highway, don’t speed 

up to pass a vehicle that is trying to merge in  

front of you. Be nice. Wait until the vehicle merges 

and then pass it on the left if you absolutely need 

to. Where are you going in such a hurry anyway? 

How to drive through  
a roundabout
While roundabouts may seem confusing, they 

actually allow you to get where you are going 

more quickly because they make intersections 

safer and more efficient.

All vehicles in a roundabout drive counter-

clockwise. Right turns going in, right turns going 

out. So, don’t be scared. Here is how to properly 

execute a roundabout turn:

1. �Slow down. Fifteen mph or less is plenty fast  
for entering the roundabout.

2. �Yield to vehicles that are already in the 
roundabout. And in some cases, you might 
have to stop and wait your turn.

3. �Enter the roundabout. Once inside, do not stop. 
Now you have the right of way.  

4. �Ready to exit? Well, then put on your blinker  
and do so.

tricky situations

YIELD

YIELD

YIELD

YIELD

Useless cocktail party trivia:  

The first modern roundabout in the USA was 

constructed in Summerlin, Nevada, in 1990. 
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The brakes are out!
This rarely happens, but if it does, immediately 

start pumping the brake pedal. FAST! This will 

build up pressure in the brake lines, allowing  

you to slow down. If that fails, well, that’s what 

the emergency brake is for. Don’t yank it up,  

apply it gradually, especially if you are going  

30 mph or more. 

EMERGENCY CAR KIT
This list is for a totally spec’d out, grand deluxe 

emergency kit. Flat tire, stuck in a snowdrift, 

alien invasion—with this kit you’ll be ready  

for anything.  

How to use jumper cables 
At some point in your life, you will be confronted with  

a dead battery. And most likely it will happen when 

you are already running late. 

	 1. Find a car to serve as the booster car. 

	 2. Make sure that the cars do not touch each other.

	 3. Turn off both engines.

	 4. �Clamp the red jumper cable (the positive cable)  

to the dead car’s positive battery terminal,  

marked with a “+.”

	 5. �Clamp the other end of the red jumper cable to the 

booster car’s positive battery terminal, also marked 

with a “+.” 

	 6. �Clamp the black jumper cable (the negative cable)  

to the booster car’s negative battery terminal, 

marked with a “–.” 

	 7. �Clamp the other end of the black jumper cable to 

a bare metal surface on the engine of the dead car. 

This can be a bolt or a screw. This provides grounding 

for the jump-start. (If you cannot find a bare metal 

surface, then clamp the black jumper cable to the 

dead car’s negative battery terminal, also marked  

with a “–.”)

	 8. �Start the booster car’s engine and let it idle  

for a few minutes.

	 9. �Start the dead car’s engine and let it idle for  

a few minutes.

10. �Disconnect the black jumper cable from the once-

dead engine. Then disconnect the black jumper 

cable from the booster car.

11. �Disconnect the red jumper cable from the booster  

car. Then disconnect the red jumper cable from  

the once-dead car.

12. �If the dead car still doesn’t start, well, the problem 

isn’t the battery. Sorry. Call a tow truck, break out  

a granola bar from your emergency kit, have a 

snack and wait.  

emergencies

AM/FM radio to listen to traffic reports  

and emergency messages

Warm clothes, gloves, hat, sturdy boots,  

jacket and an extra change of clothes

Baby formula and diapers  

if you have a small child

Cat litter or sand for better tire traction

Blanket or sleeping bag

Flares or reflective triangle

Jumper cables

Shovel and ice scraper

Bottled water

Flashlight

First aid kit

Protein or energy bars
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Western Sussex Byway 

US 13

The Western Sussex Byway moves through  

scenic farmlands, wooded areas, historic towns 

and state parks, and crosses the Nanticoke River 

on the historic Woodland Ferry. Along the way, 

opportunities for hiking, biking and boating abound. 

Length: About 35 miles 

Drive time: About 45 minutes

Lewes Byway 

Route 9 and Coastal Highway 1

With ocean views and historical sites dating back 

more than 300 years, The Lewes Byway takes 

travelers through old Lewes and Cape Henlopen 

State Park.

Length: 12.35 miles on Pilottown Road/First  

Street, Gills Neck Road, New Road, Kings Highway, 

Cape Henlopen Drive and Savannah Road 

Drive time: 1 hour

Harriet Tubman Underground  
Railroad Byway 

US 13 onto routes 15 and 9

The Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad  

Byway gives travelers an opportunity to visit  

sites that played a role in Tubman’s historic 

freedom journeys.

Length: Approximately 95 miles (including the loops) 

Drive time: About 3 hours

Route 9 Coastal Heritage Byway 

Route 9

Offering drivers an intimate experience with the 

largest preserved coastal marshland on the East 

Coast, Route 9 Coastal Heritage Byway is a scenic, 

two-lane road that follows along the Delaware 

River and Bay Estuary.

Length: Approximately 50 miles  

Drive time: A little over an hour

Red Clay Valley Byway 

Northern New Castle County, between  

routes 52 and 48

Red Clay Valley Byway is a network of 28 roads  

in New Castle County that affords spectacular  

views of wooded hillsides and scenic vistas 

including the Ashland Covered Bridge, Mt. Cuba 

Center and the Auburn Heights Preserve. 

Length: Approximately 27 miles 

Drive time: About an hour

Brandywine Valley  
National Scenic Byway 

From Rodney Square in Wilmington traveling  

on routes 52 and 100 to the DE-PA state line.

The Brandywine Valley National Scenic Byway 

winds its way through rolling hills and past  

gorgeous historic estates, educational museums  

and beautiful gardens. 

Length: 12.25 miles 

Drive time: About an hour

scenic drives

The Woodland Ferry 

World’s Largest Frying Pan 

The Hollywood Diner, Dover 

Air Mobility Command Museum 

The Monster at the Monster Mile 

World Championship Punkin Chunkin 

Delaware 
roadside 
Attractions  
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maintenance

Oil is very important
Oil lubricates the moving parts in your 

engine. Over time, dirt and debris builds up  

in the oil. And the more dirt, the harder it 

is for the parts to move. And this will cause the 

engine to work harder.

If you never changed the oil, so much gunk 

would build up in the oil that the engine would 

stop moving altogether. And then you’d have  

to walk. (Refer to the “Pedestrian Safety” 

section for tips on how to walk safely if this 

happens to you.)  

But you don’t have to change it every 3,000 miles.

Oil chemistry has improved over the years so 

that you don’t have to change your oil every 

3,000 miles. Check your car’s owner’s manual.  

It will probably say that you only need to change 

it every 5,000 or 10,000 miles or so. 

Need new tires? 

Tires are what keep you, literally, on the road.  

It only takes a penny to see if you 

need a new set. 

1 �Take a penny and put it face up 

into the tire tread, starting  

with the top of Lincoln’s head. 

1 �If you can see Abe’s entire head, then you 

need new tires. Honest. 

Also, if you see cracks on your sidewalls,  

that’s not patina, that’s another sign that  

you need new tires. 

Need new wipers? 
Do they look cracked or brittle? 

Do they leave streaks on the windshield? 

Do they hardly make a difference? 

Yes?  You need new wipers. 

You can improve your gas  
mileage by up to 3.3% by keeping 
your tires properly inflated.

Keep your windows up on the highway.  
Open windows increase drag and can  
lower fuel economy by up to 10%.

Slow and steady acceleration  
and braking can increase fuel 
economy by up to 2%. 

Restarting your car uses less fuel 
than letting it idle for long periods 
of time. If you think you are going 
to be stopped for more than a 
minute, turn your car off.

An extra 100 pounds in your car  
can lower gas mileage by up to 2%.

CHeck your 
owner’s  

manual for  
proper PSI

+100

Fuel-saving tips 



Record of Oil & Filter Changes  and Routine Inspections

maintenance 

Date Date

Date Date

Date Date

Date Date

Date Date

Date Date

Date Date

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Serviced by Serviced by

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Odometer Odometer

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed

Services performed Services performed



important stuff

Papers, 
please 

Documentation that should be in your car at all times:

1 �Proof of insurance

1 �Current registration (keep your title at home) 

What to do after  
you’ve been involved in a 
fender-bender or worse. 

1 �Move to a safe location. 

1 �If you or your car is creating a safety hazard 

for other drivers, and it’s operable, move it 

to safe location such as the shoulder of the 

road, a parking lot, the median, etc. You don’t 

want to be in the middle of an intersection if 

you don’t have to be. 

1 �Do not leave the scene of the crash. 

1 �Call the police and follow their instructions.

1 �Call 911 if there are any injuries.

1 �Exchange insurance information: company 

and policy number.

1 �Document the incident. With your cell phone 

camera, take pictures from various angles. 

Your insurance company may want pictures  

of what happened. 

1 �Stay calm and remember this is temporary. 

Almost anything can be fixed.  


