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If you're Texting, you're not Driving. 
 
If everyone knows that texting and driving are a deadly combination, then why do so 
many people still do it?   
 
For most people, using a cell phone, smart phone, or other electronic device is part of 
daily life.  We depend on this technology not only for communication, but for a variety of 
other reasons that make it difficult to put the phone down, even for a short period of 
time.  
 
The risks associated with driving distracted are very real.  
 

• In 2014, there were 168 cell phone related crashes that caused 78 injuries and 2 
fatalities in Delaware. 
 

• Five seconds is the average time your eyes are off the road while texting. When 
traveling at 55mph, that's enough time to cover the length of a football field 
blindfolded. 

 
OHS supports awareness and high-visibility enforcement of distracted driving laws, 
including Delaware’s Hands Free Law. This law prohibits drivers from texting or using 
handheld cell phones and other electronic devices while driving unless they employ a 
hands-free device.  
 
If you’re texting, you’re not driving. And, since the average fine and court costs total 
over $100, it is best to turn off the phone and put it away until you have reached your 
destination. If you need a little help putting the phone down, try downloading an app like 
Drive Safe Mode. To get the app, go to www.drivesafemode.com and for more 
information on distracted driving, go to www.distraction.gov.   
 

Drive Safe. Arrive Alive DE. 
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