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Delaware Cell Phone Law -   Frequently Asked Questions 
 

On January 2, 2011, Delaware will join 29 other states in restricting the use of hand-held cell 
phones and other devices that pose a distraction while driving.  Here are the most frequently 
asked questions about the law: 
 
Q:  What do I need to know about the new law? 
A:   This law bans texting while driving as well as ban the use of hand held cell phones – 

meaning a hands free device would be required to talk on a cell phone while driving.   
However, drivers will be allowed to pick up the phone to dial a phone number or to 
activate or deactivate their wireless equipment…then they must put the phone down.  

 
Q:   Are there any other components of the law that I should know about? 
A:   It also bans the use of pagers, PDA’s, blackberry’s etc, laptops, games or 
 portable computers, and two way communication devices while driving  
 
Q:   What if I receive a text message while I am driving? 
A:   Drivers cannot read, write, send messages or browse wirelessly while driving.   

If you need to respond immediately, find a safe place to pull over or ask a passenger to 
assist you. 

 
Q:   Can I get pulled over if a police officer sees me?  Will I get points on my license? 
A:  Yes.  It is a primary offense, and a civil penalty. No points are assessed.  
 
Q:   What are the fines if I am caught talking or texting? 
A:   The fine for the first offense is $50.00 and subsequent penalties are for between $100 

and $200 dollars.   
 
Q:   Who is exempt under the law? 
A: The following people are exempt: 

 Law enforcement, Firefighters, EMS technicians, or other operators of authorized 
emergency vehicles in the performance of their official duties  

 Anyone reporting an emergency  
 Exempts a person driving or operating a farm tractor, non-registered farm truck or 

farm equipment  
 HAM radio operators  
 Business or government employees who use a two way radio mounted or attached 

to a motor vehicle to communicate with a central dispatch, base of operation or with 
other employees (i.e.: utility companies and DelDOT)  
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