
Delaware’s 
Seat Belt Law—

what you need to know
• Under Delaware law every person in the vehicle is required to

wear a seat belt, even backseat passengers.

• The seat belt must be properly worn and fastened. Lap and

shoulder belts must both be worn and shoulder belts must not

be placed behind the back or under the arm.

• Wearing a seat belt increases your chance of surviving a crash

by nearly 50% and can help reduce the severity of crash injuries.

• Children up through 6 years or 60 lbs. must be properly secured in

a child safety seat or booster seat. After that, they must be prop-

erly restrained in a safety belt like any other occupant. No child

under 12 is permitted to ride in the front seat of a vehicle

equipped with air bags.

• An officer can stop you if you OR ANY occupant is not using a

seat belt or child safety seat. The citation, which will be issued

to the driver, will be for $25 plus court administrative fees.

For more information, visit 
www.state.de.us/highway or 

call 302-744-2740.
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Ley de Cinturón de
Seguridad de Delaware— 
lo que usted debe saber
• Según la ley en Delaware se requiere que todas las personas en

el vehículo usen el cinturón de seguridad, incluso las personas
en los asientos traseros.

• El cinturón debe estar colocado de manera apropiada y 
ajustada. Cinturones de hombro y cintura no deben estar 
colocados por la espalda o debajo de los brazos.

• Usar el cinturón aumenta en casi 50% su probabilidad de
sobrevivir a un accidente y le puede ayudar a reducir la
gravedad de las lesiones después de un accidente.

• Los niños de hasta 6 años ó 60 libras deben estar apropiada-
mente asegurados en una silla de seguridad infantil. Después
de esta edad, pueden estar sentados y asegurados con el 
cinturón de seguridad igual que cualquier otro ocupante. No
está permitido que un niño menor de 12 años se ubique en el
asiento del frente de un vehículo equipado con bolsas de aire.

• Un oficial puede detener su vehículo si usted O CUALQUIER
ocupante no usa el cinturón de seguridad. La multa, que se
emitirá a nombre del conductor, será por 25 dólares más los
gastos administrativos de la corte.

Para mayor información, visite
www.state.de.us/highway 

o llame al 302-744-2740
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