- SAFETY TIPS:
- Don't Text and Drive
- Usa a Wireless Device
If You Wish to Talk
- Focus Your Attention
Delaware's hands free cell phone law went into effect January 2, 2011 and bands all drivers from using hand held cell phones, pagers, PDAs, blackberrys, laptops, games or portable computers while driving. Drivers are not allowed to talk without using a hands-free device, read, write or send text messages, email or use the Internet while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers caught using a hand-held device will be fined roughly $106 ($50 base fine with fees) for their first offense, with subsequent penalties reaching up to $350 with fees.
Delaware became the 30th State in the nation to have a texting ban, and the 8th to also ban the use of hand held cell phones. No State completely bans the use of cell phones altogether.
Delaware has conducted many waves of overtime statewide enforcement since 2011. Most recently through a grant from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the Phone In One Hand. Ticket In The Other pilot program funded 3 waves that took place in November 2012, April, and June 2013 which resulted in over 5,700 drivers cited for cell phone use while driving.
Since the law went into effect there have been over 35,000 cell phone citations issued statewide to-date.
Get the facts:
Cell phone related crashes trend young in Delaware.
20-24 yr olds lead in cell phone related crashes, with 25-29 yr olds second, and 19 yrs and under a very close 3rd. Of those crashes, 55% of these crashes are caused by a person under the age of 30.
Males account for 55% of crashes and females 45%.
62% of cell phone related crashes have occurred in New Castle County. 22% have occurred in Sussex County, and 16% have occurred in Kent County.
Friday trends much higher than other days for cell phone related crashes.
Cell phone crashes normally increase in rate around lunch time and between 1:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. when bars close.
More information can be found at www.distraction.gov/delaware